Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Not bad, but REALLY salty (and man, I LOVE salt). I will remake with more maple syrup and low sodium soy sauce... * I should note that I boiled off some of the marinade's water and tossed the cubes in there after cooking. This gave me the "look" achieved in the picture. However, it also gave me a super salty product. I would have given this 3 stars, but as I strayed a bit, I gave this 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe nearly a dozen times. It's truly a great one. I usually marinate the tofu overnight just to soak up the great sauce as much as possible. Rawk. Love it. And so do most non tofu people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
this was great !! i threw it into a stir fry and had a whole meal. no meat, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I think maybe the flavorings are a regional thing - cause my husband & I were not accustomed to these flavors and found them rather not to our liking. We took only a few bites. Made exactly as directed except mixed up a second batch or sauce because the first didn't seem to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have never been able to prepare edible tofu before, so I'm happy with this recipe. This is delicious! The only thing I did differently was that I froze the tofu for a couple days before I used it. I had read that freezing changes the texture to more meatlike. Next time I will take the tofu out of the water b4 freezing and will slice it b4 freezing. After I froze and defrosted it, I pressed on it to get rid of water. i then applied the marinade. Today some of my pieces were little squares, but I also loved the crumbled pieces that broke off. I have been using Morningstar Crumbles and love that so I was thinking this might be similar. The flavor is different, but equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was great! i followed other people's advice, and made sure I pressed the tofu between two towels for 20 minutes or so. And then I let it marinate for several hours (didn't count how long, but just put in the fridge and let it marinate until I was ready to cook dinner). It was plenty flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I usually customize recipes and modify them till they're just right for me, however with this recipe I have not changed a thing. It doesn't need it. It's a quick, simple and easy recipe that I will continue to make and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were way too salty in my opinion. We couldn't eat them enough to finish half of them. I'll give it another go sometime in the future, but will follow other suggestions and use Braggs rather than soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I am a new fan of Tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Ugh. The picture looks so yummy, but mine didn't look like that. I love liquid smoke, but this was WAY too much. Should have added slowly and tasted as I went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States