Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This dish was delicious and so easy to prepare after work. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I may omit the butter to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I couldn't stand this tasteless fish, though the sauce & peppers were delicious. My husband was oohing & ahhing, though. He'll eat the leftovers. Be sure to serve with a good sopping-up bread. I doubled the recipe for 8 fillets, and it was SO soaked with oil (& then melted butter) that the broiling didn't really affect the fish as much as the sauce the oil & butter created. Might be best served on rice, but still, the fish was flavorless. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Excellent. Great dish for someone who is finicky with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I tried this receipe today with a few modifications. I reduced the amount of olive oil a lot -- maybe by the half and I omitted the butter completely. Instead of the 4 spoons of tomato paste, I used 1 spoon only and added fresh cut tomatoes. I also used 3 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. My 9 years old helped me do it and she thought it was pretty easy. It's also very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
My family HATES fish with a passion... well this passed with flying colors. I had them all asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. My family now has a new favorite tilapia recipe. I added a bit of red pepper flakes for a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I'm giving this four stars because my kids gobbled it up, but I would say that the four stars are a bit generous otherwise. As it's written, this recipe would have to be too greasy to eat -- I cut the oil both in the paste and in the pan, and I omitted the butter completely. Also, tomato paste is such a strong flavor, so I mixed in some bottled minced garlic and a generous sprinkling of sugar, just to make it edible. The final product reminded me of good, solid cafeteria food. You'll notice that another reviewer said that her fish-hating husband liked it? That's because you can hardly taste the fish at all. But it was super fast, used ingredients I had on hand, and a hit with the kids, so I can't complain too much. Just be advised that this is not a dish that would appeal to a refined palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
omitted tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Recipe was quick and tasted good. However the olive oil and tomato paste didnt blend well. I wasnt sure if I was doing it right or not. If I make this again I will saute the onions and bell peppers a little first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This turned out fantastic, but I made some slight variations. As someone else suggested, I marinated the fish in italian dressing for a couple of hours. I also reduced the amount of olive oil. In the tomato paste mixture, I used grated garlic instead of the powder, and poured in a couple of teaspoons of the extra italian dressing leftover from the marinade. Because oven types are different, my baking time was slightly longer and I broiled at Lo for about 12 minutes (did not use butter). I also garnished with rosemary right when I broiled the fish. This was my first time making this dish, and definitely not my last. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Era

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States