Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mad Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very tasty! I prepared mine a little differently of course, I can't help myself. I sliced my onions thin rather than chopping or dicing. I used a 5 pepper spice blend rather than cayenne. I laid the filets on top of some pre-cooked bacon I had leftover from breakfast. For the ingrediants, I added the oil, garlic, onions, salt and pepper to a small microwaveable container. I mixed these items together and cooked on high for 2 minutes, stirring half way through. I laid the bacon in the casserole dish, the filets on top, then covered with the oil/onion/garlic mix. I refridgerated for only an hour, then added an appropriate amount of 5 spice blend and covered with foil. I baked for the recommended 30 minutes. It was excellent, my husband loved it and so did I! I'll definately serve this or any variation of it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This is my new favorite recipe for Tilapia. I did modify the recipe to suit my taste buds. I didn't marinade this at all. I used my roasted garlic and spread two cloves on each piece of fish, added black pepper and salt. Drizzled olive oil and chili oil (Chinese grocer carry this) on fish. The last thing I added was Pappy's Rub on top of the onions (like a canjun spice mix). I used my mandolin slicer to thinly slice the onions. Baked for 30 minutes and broiled another 10 minutes. The onions taste more like onions rings when they are broiled and get crunchy. We ate 6 pieces between the two of us. DEEEEVine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This was great. I marinated it only about 4 hours and baked it, serving it atop wilted spinach. I used less onion and added some basil. Next time I fix it I will add a little less olive oil (there was a LOT in the dish after cooking). I haven't had much luck fixing fish, although I order it frequently when dining out; now this will become a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe, however, I made a few minor changes. I minced my garlic and diced my onions very finely. Then I put them in a small bowl (custard cup) and added olive oil and then microwaved it for a minute. The poured that the fish and left it in the fridge for 24 hours. I baked it for 25 minuted regular and then added fresh parmesean cheese for the last 5 minutes. My 3yr old and 2 yr old eat this better than chicken and usually eat more than one piece each. This is a regular on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This was the first time I have ever had Tilapia. I didn't use as much onion as the recipe called forand I doubled the amount of garlic...and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I added a little fresh lemon juice,and some fresh tyme. I only got to marinate it for an hour. So next time i will definitley marinate longer and add salt and pepper. The kids actually liked it! And my husband loved it! I will be making this more often now that I found a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This dish was quite bland when I made it according to the directions. I made it another night as we had lots of tilapia from a trip to Costco. I salted BOTH sides of the fish and added Italian seasoning before laying it on the aluminum foil which I brushed with olive oil. I would also recommend tenting the fish with a layer of foil to keep it from drying out. I also went heavier with the garlic - 3 times the amount and gave it a few sprays with "I can't believe it's not Butter." It was quite tasty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Very good, basic recipe! I added fresh lemon juice and basil. Very adaptable to use with fish other than tilapia. I use this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Time didn't allow for overnight marinating, so I added a tiny dash of onion and garlic powder and this really turned out great! I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I was short of time so only marinated fish for one hour -- it was excellent. Can't wait to serve this to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States