Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This dish was so easy and had quite a bit of flavor. First I washed the Tilapia then I coated it with Garlic like it says then I poured the 3 Tsp's of olive oil over the the fish making sure it was all coated nicely with the oil. Then I cut up my vidalia onion into chunks like the picture showed sprinkled it with some course sea salt and placed it in the refrigerator for 5 hours to marinate. I left off the black pepper and the cayenne pepper and it still had great flavor. Comments from my dinner guests were "this tastes great!" "it is so nice and moist" "I can't believe you did not cover it and it did not burn...". The fish was cooked as said however, I did not transfer from the marinade dish I used the same dish that the fish was marinading in not sure if that made a difference and I also used EVOO olive oil from Chile. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was a good recipe, but it needed a bit of reworking. I added more garlic, plus basil and parsley. I only had an hour before I baked it, so I had to make the ingredients in stacked format: fish, oil, salt, pepper, parsley, basil, garlic, fish, oil, etc., I then wrapped it in plastic wrap for an hour and placed in the refrigerator. After an hour, placed a tin foil tent in a cake pan and put the fish side by side in the tin foil tent, in the pan. I baked the fish in it for 30 minutes at 350. The tent out of tin foil allows steam to build up and decreases the chances of the fish drying. I also cut red and yellow sweet peppers and onions and put over the top of the fish before securing the tent top. Tilapia can be a bit fishy, especially for young eaters. My young niece Maddie would love this recipe and she hates tilapia! You may need to decrease the garlic for young eaters, but my husband said it was the best tilapia he's ever had. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet Goat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe was simple to make. However, when it was finished cooking, it was not aesthetically pleasing. I used a lot of garlic on these filets, and they did benefit from it. They were bland. The onions did not cook in a satisfactory way, either. My dining partner said the flavor profile was good, but it was a little too basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
little trickier but I used coconut oil instead of olive oil. This fish was amazing! That is the only modification I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Awesome. I didn't marinade because I don't think fish needs to be marinaded. I put the olive oil with melted butter in a baking dish, rubbed the fish on both sides in butter/oil, put lemon juice over all and then sprinkled both side with garlic powder and roasted onion granules and baked as directed. - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was bland. I may use it again, next time adding lemon juice, and using butter instead of olive oil, and Italian seasoning instead of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very good--I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used a bit of regular chili powder and regular pepper; it worked wonderfully! I might try adjusting with some other spices just for fun. this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I really liked this fish. I think maybe I would season it a little more next time. I am cajun and it was a tiny bit bland..I did add some Slap Ya mama cajun seasoning but i probably needed more of that and pepper and cayenne. I served it over parmesan cheese fries and added some parmesan over the fish at serving also. I would make this again! I did have to bake it about 10 minutes longer and I am guessing it is from the onions covering the top of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Used about 1/2 onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States