Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I love tilapia and I love easy!! This dish was perfect and simple - a wonderful vehicle for creativity - I could see tossing some capers in this, a butter/white wine sauce, cilantro, or salsa as someone suggested, mushrooms, zucchini - I personally would use less onion (1/2?) and oil (2T?) and add some salt, but this recipe is absolutely going into regular rotation at my house. Thanks to Letty Ann for the great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I am not usually a fish person, but this was great. I didn't even have the cayenne pepper, I can't imagine how good it would have been with it. I served this with couscous, it was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Pretty good. I've never had tilapia before and chose this recipe. I think I will try tilapia again, but with a different recipe. This was a good place to start though. Very simple. Onions didn't get cooked enough, so we just scraped them off and didn't eat them. Was very tender and easy to eat. My 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The fish was great baked just in olive oil and garlic, but it needed something else with it. Maybe a little less garlic and a little salt and some fine seasoned bread crumbs. They were great paired with a buttery rice pilaf and steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I was really looking forward to this but it really lacked in taste. I had to doctor it up with seasonings. I probably wouldn't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This recipe was a big hit. We don't really like onions with our fish, so we left them out. Also, to avoid the overnight portion of this recipe, we skipped the marinade. Instead, we rubbed minced garlic on both sides of the fish and lightly seasoned with salt and pepper. Then we sliced thin pats of butter (about 2-3 tablespoons worth) and laid them over the tilapia before baking. Very easy and came out great. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I baked this recipe and it was very Blah willnot use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was good... but when you double the recipe...it ends up being VERY garlicky. I think if I make it again, I would not use quite as much garlic, especially if doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is very good and my first experience with Tilapia. Since it is a Mediterranean fish, the garlic and olive oil honors the dish. I did not marinate due to late night dinner and it was still very good. I used minced garlic and dehydrated minced onion which made little crunchy yummies. I also sprinkled on some paprika because I like the way it makes baked/broiled fish taste/look. Will add this to my fish recipe repertoire. (WW=5pt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
very good and easy. i added prawns, threw in some salt & thyme, and used just 1/2 of an onion. served with roasted potatoes and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States