Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Fantastic!! I have an awful time cooking fish. My family loved it. Even my fish hating son. I added a little bit of chili powder for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe was very good. I marinated the fish in my 13 x 9 baking pan overnight so the next day all I had to do was put it in the oven. Nice make ahead dish. The fish was very tender and flavorful. I have made this a few times now and will continue to make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
very good..i didnt have time to marinate it so i heated up the garlic and onions in the olive oil for a minute then covered the tilapia with it.served it over a bed of mushroom brown rice and side of sauteed brussell sprouts. fish was very good and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Simple as can be. I was in a rush with this one so I prepared my fillets with fresh crushed garlic, olive oil, pepper and crushed basil leaves. Oven baked with onions, omg, delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I am one that don't really like seafood or too much garlic. I decided to try making 1 of the filets with this recipe. I didn't see it said to let it set overnight until midway through. I didn't have time to do that so I just prepared without letting it sit all night. I was really surprised how good this was. It didn't have an overbearing garlic taste. We grilled it over foil. Even my daughter loved it! I gave it a 4 star only because of having to let it set overnight. I seem to find a lot of recipes like this lately, when I'm searching for last minute dinner choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Don't know what I did wrong - but it was very bland - more onion taste than anything else. And my whole refrigerator smells like onions & garlic after its overnight marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
good basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I just like most people did tweek this just a bit, I had Flounder instead of tilapia. I also did not marinate it. I used olive oil, fresh garlic cloves sliced, scallions,mini heirloom tomatoes and cayenne pepper, I broiled it for 5 min and baked at 400° for about 10 min. it came out soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This dish was so easy and had quite a bit of flavor. First I washed the Tilapia then I coated it with Garlic like it says then I poured the 3 Tsp's of olive oil over the the fish making sure it was all coated nicely with the oil. Then I cut up my vidalia onion into chunks like the picture showed sprinkled it with some course sea salt and placed it in the refrigerator for 5 hours to marinate. I left off the black pepper and the cayenne pepper and it still had great flavor. Comments from my dinner guests were "this tastes great!" "it is so nice and moist" "I can't believe you did not cover it and it did not burn...". The fish was cooked as said however, I did not transfer from the marinade dish I used the same dish that the fish was marinading in not sure if that made a difference and I also used EVOO olive oil from Chile. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was a good recipe, but it needed a bit of reworking. I added more garlic, plus basil and parsley. I only had an hour before I baked it, so I had to make the ingredients in stacked format: fish, oil, salt, pepper, parsley, basil, garlic, fish, oil, etc., I then wrapped it in plastic wrap for an hour and placed in the refrigerator. After an hour, placed a tin foil tent in a cake pan and put the fish side by side in the tin foil tent, in the pan. I baked the fish in it for 30 minutes at 350. The tent out of tin foil allows steam to build up and decreases the chances of the fish drying. I also cut red and yellow sweet peppers and onions and put over the top of the fish before securing the tent top. Tilapia can be a bit fishy, especially for young eaters. My young niece Maddie would love this recipe and she hates tilapia! You may need to decrease the garlic for young eaters, but my husband said it was the best tilapia he's ever had. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet Goat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States