Baked Teriyaki Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is a really good one!!! Definitely double the sauce. Here is what I did differently. Used lite soy sauce to cut the salt, increased the garlic, used 1 tsp. minced fresh ginger. A lot of reviewers said to half the amount of sugar but I tasted it and felt I needed to add more but not the whole amount. Since I doubled the sauce, I used 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/4 c. white sugar. I lined my pan with heavy duty foil then poured most of the thickened sauce over bone-in thighs (skin removed) and some boneless breasts but reserved a little. Cooked, covered with foil for 30 minutes, removed foil, poured remainder of sauce over and bake another 20-30 minutes. Wow. Really good! Update: I made this again using slices of tri tip and it was great. Fantastic with salmon. I had a large fillet and basically baked it the same way but reduced the oven temp. to 375 and baked for a little less time till fish was flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3294 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Delicious! I substituted 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts and dumped all the sauce on top prior to cooking. I also used an 8x8 baking dish and cooked at 400 degrees for 35 mins. It turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2011 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! The recipe didn't mention it, but I decided to cover the pan with foil to help keep the chicken tender. And I used lite soy sauce too. I think I may decided to line the pan with foil too the next time I make it--otherwise, you have a sticky, black mess. Delicious flavor, and the chicken was so tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Excellent. After reading several reviews, I did make the following changes: Doubled the sauce. In the doubled recipe, I doubled the garlic (fresh pressed), reduced sugar by half and used packed brown sugar instead of white sugar, used lite soy sauce (I always use lite, regular is TOO salty), rounded the tablespoons of cornstarch, used fresh ground pepper (five pepper blend), and I had boneless, skinless thighs. I baked at 375 degrees, 25 mins covered with foil, then 15 mins uncovered (total 40 mins). I did not baste, but just covered the thighs with the sauce. Would've used fresh ground ginger if I'd had it. Cleanup was a breeze as long as I soaked pans right away, it washed right out. With these changes it was scrumptious and got rave reviews from my family. Great with thighs, would also try breasts or other cuts. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
883 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Fantastic!!! This has become a favorite in my house. The only changes I make is using boneless skinless chicken breasts and I do cut the soy sauce down a bit and I substitute some of the white sugar for brown sugar to cut down on the saltiness because my husband thought it was a bit too salty. Also,do cut the temp down on this. I go 375 for the first 15 minutes or so and then down to 350 for another 20-25 minutes. Continually baste to get that yummy glaze. Terrific recipe!!! Definately 5*'s!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
What a great homemade teriyaki sauce! It has a much richer taste, than many bottled. The only thing I changed was I used a "low-sodium" soy. To make a meal, I added fresh snow peas, sliced water chestnuts, squares of yellow onion and green pepper, and fresh pineapple chunks. We put over white rice. It was as good as a very good oriental restaurant's! We did not like the chicken thigh dark-meat with the bone in much though, so next time I will make with chicken breast,BONELESS,SKINLESS thigh meat, shrimp, or pork. Thank you Marian, this sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This recipe is totally awesome. You owe it to yourself to try it. I took the advice of other reviewers and I cooked the chicken at 375 degrees. The teriyaki sauce is best I have ever had. I doubled up on the sauce for basting purposes. I used chicken breasts and cut them in strips and served on top of brown rice which was cooked in chicken broth,cooked onions,and a dash of soy sauce. Thanks MARIAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I make this recipe in a slow cooker and it is simply fantastic. I just put the chicken thighs in, cover with the sauce (exact recipe)and put it on low for at least 5 hours. The longer the chicken cooks the more savory the dish, and the chicken just falls apart (shreds) in the sauce. About an hour before I'm ready to serve I throw in some chopped green pepper, carrots, celery (or whatever vegetables I want to get rid of in the fridge), and then 20 minutes before serving I throw in a can of drained pineapple chunks. The pineapple removes the saltiness and the dish is perfect spooned over rice. Absolutely amazing! I find this recipe foolproof --today I tripled the sauce (made 20 thighs), dropped the bowl and lost most of the sauce all over myself and the floor (GOD what a mess!) and was too lazy to make more so just used whatever was left. It STILL came out perfect!! And if the sauce is too thin I just remove some from the crockpot, add a little cornstarch paste and/or Veloutine gravy thickener, microwave it till it boils and thickens and mix it back in with the rest. Too easy! Thank you for an unforgettable recipe that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYZGURL77
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Loved the sauce, although I do plan to reduce the amount of sugar next time. Poured the sauce over chicken breasts which had been pounded to about 1/2-inch thickness. Baked at 375 for 30 minutes, turning the chicken pieces over halfway through. Everyone raved about it, even my 2-year-old: yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
Very good! I used 6 breast pieces with good results. I baked them at 400 degrees for the first 15 min and then reduced the heat to 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

This top-rated recipe for baked chicken thighs boasts a tangy, tasty marinade.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States