Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I sprang for the walnut oil but substituted 2 tbsp. ground ginger for the fresh, and 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, and 1/4 tsp. ground alspice for the cardamom. Potatoes stayed moist and were a nice compliment to the turkey. Everybody liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was a great recipe that I made for a dinner party, word of caution: cut the ginger in half at least! The ginger is potent and too strong, but if you cut back on it, it works! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
Great recipe! Really simple and easy to make. I substitute vegetable oil for the walnut oil since I never have any on hand and it turns out scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
My husband doesn't like Sweet Potatoes but he loves this recipe. I tripled this recipe for a family gathering and the potatoes were gone with in fifteen minutes. They are still raving about them. Cardamon makes anything great. Oh! I ran out of honey and substituted brown sugar and it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving. It was way too much ginger. Cardamon has such a wonderful flavor; I felt the ginger completely over powered the taste of anything else. I'll cut the ginger down next time, and it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I screwed up this recipe because I added all of the spices and ingredients to my pot of apples instead of the sweet potatoes. I had gotten my two recipes mixed up and looked at the wrong printout (I was in between soccer games and totally rushed for time). Anyway, I ended up mixing the apples with the sweet potatoes (used a small can). Results were outstanding. Even though I messed up everything, it all turned out just great. Served with the pork tenderloin with bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I was looking for a low fat way to serve sweet potatoes and I found this recipe. WOW! You won't believe the delicious flavor. Just one thing - it took much longer to cook than it says in the recipe - about an hour (but worth the wait).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
I did modify the recipe somewhat - sliced, instead of cubing, the potatoes (1/4" - 1/2"); used ground ginger and omitted the cardamom (none on hand) - and they still came out TERRIFIC! Easiest "candied sweet potato" recipe I've ever made! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Am I missing something? Eight other cooks said this was a five star recipe. I agree that the flavor was excellent, but they were extremely dry. I will make again, but perhaps add a bit of chicken broth or sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Quartered & cubed pototoes-40 minutes is right on! Delicious! I sprang for the walnut oil but not the cardamom ($$$) - used cinnamon, wee bit of nutmeg & salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States