Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I don't know WHAT I did wrong, but this didn't turn out quite the way I thought it would. The only change I made was I put in 1 tbsp ground ginger instead of the fresh ginger. I baked it according to directions, and they came out pretty burnt (I mean, the burnt carmellized version). My oven might be not working correctly. It tasted just OK even though it was burnt, but all I tasted was the ginger. Next time (and my suggestion for y'all) is LESS ginger is better! I'll be belchin' ginger for days now. (((smiling)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was a wonderful side dish with all the ginger (I had a bunch of fresh ginger I was trying to find a recipe for) and it was refreshingly different than your standard sweet potato casserole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very good, my family enloyed it. I added 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used this as a base for my Christmas dinner sweet potatoes, but was limited by what I had on hand. So I used coconut oil instead of walnut oil, and garam masala in place of cardamom. Otherwise, I prepared the potatoes as directed (though, in a deep dish pie plate for lack of a cast iron skillet). The result was delicious and a hit with the whole family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very intriguing taste. I expected them to be sweeter, but I used sweet potatoes in stead of yams. Next time I think I'll use yams (and more honey :)) The ginger made the whole house smell wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Big hit at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ross Shin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I used this recipe as an 11th hour addition to my Thanksgiving menu. I wanted a not-too-sweet recipe that could be baked while I was stuffing the turkey and reheated after the turkey came out. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I substituted a generous dash each of cinnamon and cloves instead of cardamom and olive oil instead of walnut oil. I used 3 tsps. of grated fresh ginger as some other reviewers suggested - it gave it a surprising (but delicious!) hot taste when I first made it. The hotness disappeared upon reheating and I will try adding more ginger next time. Everyone loved it! My husband and daughter both asked if we could make some more to go with the leftover turkey. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This seems to be a fairly flexible recipe. We made adjustments because we didn't have everything we needed and it was excellent. We used vegetable oil instead of walnut oil and cinnamon instead of cardamom. We also baked it on a cookie sheet instead of in a skillet. We all loved it including those of us who usually don't like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These were excellent! I sliced them instead of cubing them to cut down on the bake time. They took about 25 minutes total. Some other reviewers said there was too much ginger, but I thought they were great. It does have a strong ginger flavor, so if you aren't a huge fan,you should probably cut back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States