Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These were good, but a little too sweet for me. The spices and honey masked the sweetness of sweet potatoes. Also, they stuck to the pan. I'd put foil down if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Four words: yum, yum, YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This tasted decent. It was somewhat difficult too because unless the pieces were all the same size, they did not cook evenly. I might give it another change. I also did 1 tsp of fresh ginger, 1/2 tsp of cardamom and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Would like them to come out on the crunchy side. They were mushy, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Don't need so much ginger root. Did not get crispy in oven, just mushy, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I think I might have done these wrong. They came out goopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowan Aftyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These turned out quite good. They didn't caramelize until after the second 20 minute baking time, but were really good anyway. I think I overdid the ginger a little, but still tasted good and different. Didn't have any added fat, so were a low-fat food. I think I'd make them again, as we love sweet potatoes, and this is a nice change from the usual ways of cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
With sugar conscious people at the table I reduced the honey to about 3 Tbsp. The result was a much more savory dish. Agree about fresh ginger- makes a huge difference. We did not find the cardamom to be too strong. With no walnut oil on hand (is it just me?) I used veggie oil and a little water. Also used a baking dash to bake it, and covered for the second 20 min. It really steamed and softened the potatoes. Great recipe! Will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Did not like the cardamom at all........if I do try this again (not sure if I will) I will leave that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious! I did not have walnut oil (actually have never heard of it) so I used olive oil. Added chopped walnuts and they were a fabulous addition. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States