Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I baked these for a potluck and guests raved over the taste, even though I baked them a little too long so they didn't look pretty. I added equal amount of cinnamon with the paprika, plus a dash of coarse salt, and used food processor to make lengthwise oval slices. Next time I'll stick to the steak cut fry slices, which will undoubtedly hold their shape better during transfer from baking sheet to serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
very good recipe, though like others i cut the potatoes into much smaller slices and cooked for about 10 min on one side and 12 on the other. also, adding some low-fat parmesan cheese is a nice way to change the flavour up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These were too limp and I'm assuming that I put too much olive oil in my bag when mixing. I also cut them into thinner strips and pulled them early from the oven because the bottoms were browned. I'm thinking less oil next time and cut bigger so they are more crisp and not limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were a hit! I cut into small strips, but think they need to match sticks. They didn't get crisp all they way. They are more of a crispy, deliciousness with a bit of softness. Here is what I did: olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, minced ginger (from a jar) minced galic (from jar), S&P; put it all in a ziplock bag and mixed. I turned them several times, and took them out as they started to blacken on the ends. I served them room temp. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
SOOOO Delicious! I LOVE these! I found that the thinner pieces were even more tasty because they got a nive crispness that the fatter pieces didn't, so next time I will slice it all thin. Also, I added some onion powder and black pepper and it was even more amazing. Thanks for a great recipe! :) My new favorite snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madabo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I am not BIG on sweet potatoes but they were OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Really tasty side dish and a great way to eat sweet potatoes. Thanks for sharing this great idea. I just wish they were crispy on the outside. If anyone knows how to make them crispy on the outside, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Like others I cooked for only 20 min. I cut them smaller than in quarters. I added less than 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, onion powder and salt. I also ended up adding a little more olive oil since the added dry ingredients makes it pastier and you need it to be liquid. I would suggest brushing the potatoes with the oil mixture if you decide to do them lengthwise. It would also be good if they were cut in 1/2-3/4 inch rounds. Then maybe use a plastic bag. I had a very hard time trying to coat the lenthwise piece in a 10 in. round bowl. Eating at room temp or just a little warmer is ideal. Hot would be no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
They burnt at 40 minutes (should have read reviews first). Tried again and done at 25 minutes. They weren't as crisp as I would have liked, so tried again and brushed fries with egg whites - crispy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I used Tony Chachere's seasoning... fabulous! Does someone know a perfect dipping sauce for these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States