Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Since finding this recipe two months ago, I have made these many times with great results! Cutting a raw sweet potato lengthwise is NOT an easy task, so choose the more narrow ones. Definitely use the ziptop bag method for seasoning. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I added more than just paprika. We enjoy garlic salt, onion powder, thyme, salt and pepper. Also I've found that you can cook these at 350, 375 or 400 and just adjust the baking time accordingly. Foil on your baking sheet makes for the easiest clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I like this recipe A LOT b/c you can be creative. I am not a fan of sweet potatoes, but learned from this recipe that you can EASILY disguise the sweet potato taste and eat healthier. After reading the recipe reviews from this one, I raided the spice cupboard and came up with a perfect combination. I slice the potatoes in 1/4" round slices versus the sticks. In a large ziploc bag, I combined olive oil, garlic powder, chili powder, salt, and pepper. I tossed the slices in the mixture and baked them on a pizza stone for 15 minutes on each side. In another bag I tried the brown sugar/garlic powder mixture someone else mentioned. It was good, but not as good as the first batch. MUST TRY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
These were so awesome! My family devoured them....I baked them at 350 degrees for 50 minutes and that prevented the outside from getting done too fast. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used a huge knife and easily cut the sweet potatoes into eighths. I used a pastry brush to apply canola oil to the potatoes. I made 1/3 with creole seasoning; 1/3 with nutmeg, cinnamon, salt and brown sugar; and 1/3 with salt only. I baked them at 350 for 50 minutes and they were wonderful. I liked the brown sugar mix the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Yummm! These were great - the whole family gobbled them up. I sliced thin, instead of stick at others' suggestion. I added basil, garlic powder and parm cheese. I don't usually like sweet potatoes, but I finally found a recipe I can love them with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is a good idea, but I didn't like them as sticks with skins. Next time I'll peel the potatoes and slice them into rounds. I added additional seasonings -- 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and 1 Tbs. brown sugar for 4 average sized potatoes. The flavors and textures were great, so I will DEFINITELY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I've made these fries for years, and my kids just love them. I use butter flavored spray and salt and pepper, but I will definitely try it this way, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I slice mine and use the ziplock bag method, I find that gets them evenly coated and not too greasy. Try curry powder - thats my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Delicious! I added salt and pepper and also a bit of garlic. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I guess I am just used to and like the brown sugar and butter method to sweet potatoes. I just don't think this recipe was for us. We did cook them a bit longer than the recipe called for and they did end up a bit greasy. I thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States