Baked Stuffed Winter Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was a lot of work, but worth it. I downsized the recipe for two squashes, and used one orange acorn and one yellow acorn. I also used ground turkey instead of pork, a mix of chopped turnip, carrot and garlic instead of celery. I subbed a small amount of almonds for the pecans, but the recipe would be fine without any nuts at all. I thought the raisins were important. I did not need to mash the squash - after I scooped it, it blended in perfectly . I did add a dash of salt and pepper, and used store-bought Italian breadcrumbs. I topped with cheese for the final bake. This recipe is very forgiving and you could really make lots of substitutions or additions depending on your tastes. My husband and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great Recipe! I used 2 buttercup squash and next time, I'll be cooking the squash in the microwave since the oven took way too long, and I burned myself on the water. I also left out the thyme and instead used italian style bread crumbs and added some italian seasoning along with salt and pepper. I left out the raisins, but felt the pecans really added some good flavor and crunch. I also increased the celery to 3 stalks, to add some more veggies and crunch. Lastly, I topped it with mozzarella cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking, which was good but next time I'm going to try some shredded parmesan cheese. I also think adding a cup or two of cooked rice would taste good and will probably try that at some point as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A good recipe. I will make this 1x/year. My husband kept saying: "It's interesting" meaning he prefers the traditional baked squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. The only change I made was that I used stove top stuffing instead of bread crumbs and mixed a half can of chicken broth in with the stuffing. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Great! I accidentally turned off the oven after the squash was cooked, but the last twenty minutes was sped up in the microwave. I also made my own bread crumbs by putting scraps of bread in the saute pan with some butter and thyme. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BANANA32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Super easy and really good!! Looks impressive with little effort. I left out the raisins, and it was still perfect! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Barnums
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was a delicious and easy meal! I didn't use the raisins or pecans because I didn't have any, but it would have been good with them. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is hands down a delicious and elegant recipe to serve during the fall bounty of squash! So easy but still so tasty. I omitted the raisins and pecans and was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNAmber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ActuallyHolly
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Sooo tasty. Instead of Italian sausage, I used Trader Joe's chicken sausage (garlic and asiago flavors) and it was wonderful. The pecans and raisins added a crunchiness and sweetness that totally made this dish unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was awesome! I used less sausage, no celery (didn't have any,) added chopped apples, a sprinkling of crushed red pepper, and grated a little parmesan on top for last 5 minutes of baking. I also used the microwave to precook the acorn squash. Gotta say the photo almost scared me away from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States