Baked Stuffed Winter Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Just made this for dinner tonight and loved it. I made it basically the same, except I used Italian turkey sausage to cut calories, and I omitted the pecans and raisins. I didn't have pecans or I probably would have added them. I sprinkled a little parm. cheese on top the last few minutes of baking. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very good base recipe. I made it with chicken sausage, replaced the raisins with chopped apples and steamed brown rice in place of the bread crumbs. It's pretty much a no-fail recipe, and super easy. Plus, it's a fantastically warm and comforting dish with great fall flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great Recipe! I used 2 buttercup squash and next time, I'll be cooking the squash in the microwave since the oven took way too long, and I burned myself on the water. I also left out the thyme and instead used italian style bread crumbs and added some italian seasoning along with salt and pepper. I left out the raisins, but felt the pecans really added some good flavor and crunch. I also increased the celery to 3 stalks, to add some more veggies and crunch. Lastly, I topped it with mozzarella cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking, which was good but next time I'm going to try some shredded parmesan cheese. I also think adding a cup or two of cooked rice would taste good and will probably try that at some point as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
this was a wonderful recipe! i didn't have to tweak it at all, and as my husband said....the secret ingredient is sausage! kind of like love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe, although we left out the raisins. This was part of a meal to feed two vegetarians and two meat-eaters. We substituted Tofurky Italian (fake) Sausage for half the recipe and used sweet Italian sausage for the other half. It worked out great and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Delicious! But next time I'll add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
very good. I did change a couple things. I used craisins instead of raisins and maple sausage instead of italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I liked this recipe, but only with my adjustments, thus the 3 star rating. I did not put raisins and pecans in it. I think the pecans would be good, but my family doesn't like raisins in savory foods. We used an heirloom squash called Uncle David's Dakota Dessert Squash. It was very good, but because it was a little drier kind of squash, we added some butter to it at the table. It seemed to absorb all of the moisture from the sausage and veggie mixture. With my adjustments, I would give it a 4 star rating. Very good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ActuallyHolly
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Sooo tasty. Instead of Italian sausage, I used Trader Joe's chicken sausage (garlic and asiago flavors) and it was wonderful. The pecans and raisins added a crunchiness and sweetness that totally made this dish unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was a lot of work, but worth it. I downsized the recipe for two squashes, and used one orange acorn and one yellow acorn. I also used ground turkey instead of pork, a mix of chopped turnip, carrot and garlic instead of celery. I subbed a small amount of almonds for the pecans, but the recipe would be fine without any nuts at all. I thought the raisins were important. I did not need to mash the squash - after I scooped it, it blended in perfectly . I did add a dash of salt and pepper, and used store-bought Italian breadcrumbs. I topped with cheese for the final bake. This recipe is very forgiving and you could really make lots of substitutions or additions depending on your tastes. My husband and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States