Baked Stuffed Winter Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is an excellent recipe - used ground chicken & added cinnamon and s&p - skipped nuts. Will add veggies next time - options are endless. Sprinkled a bit of Texas Pete on mine - Hubby enjoyed as is. Please don't let the photo turn you off! Try It - You'll Like It : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this dish and was very pleased with it. The first time I made it exactly as described and my guests loved it. When I made it again for the family, I thought I'd save lots of time by microwaving the squash instead of giving it that 40 min. in the oven ... not a good idea, as it turned out, because the rind became soft and watery and fell apart as I was scraping the insides. I used chicken sausage, which worked out great the first time, but wouldn't brown evenly and was too dry the second -- same brand, too. Go figure. I also substituted dried cranberries for the raisins the 2nd time, and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great recipe. We changed it though. Didn't use the nuts, raisins or sausage as we didn't have any. But did use spam and 5 people ate it all up. I didnt find it was that much work at all. Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was awesome! I used less sausage, no celery (didn't have any,) added chopped apples, a sprinkling of crushed red pepper, and grated a little parmesan on top for last 5 minutes of baking. I also used the microwave to precook the acorn squash. Gotta say the photo almost scared me away from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is hands down a delicious and elegant recipe to serve during the fall bounty of squash! So easy but still so tasty. I omitted the raisins and pecans and was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNAmber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I liked a lot of the ideas provided! Someone of my acquaintance (a man, of course) suggested a band saw! Well, I don't use those! But I found a relatively easy way. (I used butternut squash). Put the whole squash into a 375 degree oven for about 10 minutes, then check with the tip of a knife; if the knife penetrates the skin turn off the oven, but leave the squash for another 10-15 minutes. Remove with pot pads or oven mitts; put on a cutting board and carefully cut the squash in half (use a large, sharp knife, serrated, if possible). Let the halves cool a little more, then remove the seeds and proceed according to your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A good recipe. I will make this 1x/year. My husband kept saying: "It's interesting" meaning he prefers the traditional baked squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used this recipe as a jumping off point for my own version. I especially love the way the squash is cooked before adding it to the stuffing as it's just right to soften enough squash for the mix but not too much that the rind is too soft to stuff after. Here's what I changed: diced parsnip instead of celery lemon thyme instead of plain 1/4 cup shredded parmesan instead of egg chestnuts instead of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! I substituted bratwurst for the Italian sausage and I've regretted it. The dish ended up lacking in flavor. My error, nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Just made this for dinner tonight and loved it. I made it basically the same, except I used Italian turkey sausage to cut calories, and I omitted the pecans and raisins. I didn't have pecans or I probably would have added them. I sprinkled a little parm. cheese on top the last few minutes of baking. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States