Baked Stuffed Winter Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
If I could give this 10 stars I would. Definately a great alternative to the traditional way. My kids wanted more and more! I did not use sausage, but used ground turkey flavored with thyme, basil, garlic powder, and oregano. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was a wonderful weeknight meal! I made it with bison meat and substituted the celery for an apple. What a savory and wonderful meal! I totally agree that the raisins are an important part. We also loved the crunch of the pecans. This one is definatley going into the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for when I received 2 beautiful acorn squash from my CSA! As popular opinion suggested, I subbed stovetop stuffing for the breadcrumbs and thyme. I also used Turkey Italian sausage. Other than that, followed the recipe to a tee and it was fabulous! The only thing I would change next time (and there WILL be a next time!) is to use dried cranberries instead of raisins, because I was really wishing for a tangy pop, instead of a normal sweetness. Still, delicious! I HAD to take and upload a photo because (no offense) the ONE photo for this recipe did NOT do this recipe justice! (sorry, original photo-submitter!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was ok, but when you had a raisin in the bite it was better. However, it isn't as good as others we've tried. My daughter would give it a 4 if there were more raisins. Funny thing, when she first saw it, she said it has raisins in it(with a sad face) then she tasted it and said it needed more raisins. She really like the sweetness they added. I guess I'm comparing it to the Stuffed Acorn Squash recipe which is also on this site. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
In one word, this was "interesting". I don't think that it was bad, but I didnt' end up eating much. My boyfriend said that he like it, but he is super polite about my cooking! I do not think that we will be making it again. Fun to try new things though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I always make this recipe with kabocha squash and leave out the nuts. I also substitute the meat with soy meat for a vegetarian alternative. The lighter version that I make is sooo tasty that I make it on a fairly regular basis. Don't be afraid to experiment! I will say that leftovers don't taste as good as they did on the first day, but I love it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Well, I can't give it 5 stars because I changed it so much that I'm not sure it's even the same recipe ... but it came out pretty good! I used 1 large acorn squash, 1/2 pound of breakfast sausage, a dash of cinnamon and a dash of cloves, an egg, and oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. I sprinkled the top lightly with brown sugar and put a few dabs of butter before the second baking ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used butternut squash and substituted dried cherries for the raisins... DELICIOUS!!! Everyone loved it, and I will definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiedi Heaton

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I changed the portion for a serving for 2. Very easy to make and a very good, healthy meal as I used chicken Italian sausage And egg better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Bland, soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States