Baked Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've made these several times for Jason and myself as a light lunch or dinner. I've made them by Anita's original recipe, and I've also made the following changes: I've added shredded swiss cheese and chopped onions and red and yellow peppers as well as green. I've added a chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper to the mix. I've substituted cubed cooked ham and also cubes of kielbasa instead of bacon. And I've replaced the Parmesan with Ricotta for a richer filling. I'm convinced that there is no way to mess this recipe up-it turns out perfect every time. Thanks Anita-your recipe is great as is, but serves VERY well as a foundation for changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I did add my own seasonings (garlic, onion, pepper and italian) and once the tomato was stuffed, I topped with some bread crumbs, parm cheese and a little olive oil. Thanks Anita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made lots of changes. We're vegetarian, so no bacon. Used feta instead of parmesan. Diced and sauteed: 1/4 onion, 1/3 red pepper, 1 yellow squash. Added to all of the tomato pulp (diced and lightly drained). Used fresh basil instead of what the recipe called for. Oh, and breadcrumbs instead of croutons. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I did make changes to this, before adding the filling I smeared the inside of the tomatoes with sun dried tomato paste. I used a yellow bell pepper and chopped the parsley into the mix if I'd used it as a garnish hubby would have just put it on the side of his plate. I also made the croutons. Served with a rice salad this made a nice light evening meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe was a great sidedish to my dinner tonight! I cut the tomatoes in half and tried to stuff them that way, but that wasn't a good idea. Not a lot would fit into them, and they kept tipping. Make sure to cut off just the top of the tomato; it will taste much better! The croutons were also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
One of the most succesful recipes I have tried off of allrecipes; my brother and I really enjoyed this After reading the comments from a few reviewers, I upped the ingredients to avoid running out of stuffing, of course I ended up with too much, but the mixture is so flavorful (the bacon really sets it off) that it can be combined with lettuced for a great salad or mixed in with other vegetables I used both shredded and canned parmesan cheese; I also mixed together bread crumbs and canned parmesan and sprinkled the mixture on the tops before baking. Others mentioned that the green pepper didnt work for them; it worked fine for me so I think its a matter of taste. This is definitely a keeper for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This were better than I expected - I was trying to use up some leftover garden tomatoes. I used six small to medium tomatoes and only had enough stuffing for five - so I would be more generous when making the filling. I used Romano cheese and some fresh snipped basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I overall liked this recipe, although it needs a bit more flavor. Instead of bacon I used turkey sausage, and also added onions. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachealHuber
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Very Delicious- I cored out the entire inside of the tomatoe and used a little of the insides for the stuffing- TRY FETA CHEESE for this recipe as well as spinach and italian bread crumbs- made for a delicious side dish- The feta cheese really makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe so many times. It's so good. I am a vegetarian so I don't inlcude the bacon, but I don't think the flavor suffers. I also use all the tomato pulp and make the walls of the tomato thinner so i have more filling to work with and more room to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States