Baked Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Would have given it the fifth star, except the green peppers were too raw and crunchy for my taste. Next time i'll saute them to soften them up a bit. But the flavors are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
A good basic recipe...I added a lot to it, some chopped olives, lots of parmesan, sun dried tomatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Ok, so I made this for my Super Bowl party and these were the only thing that didn't get rave reviews. I think there was something missing. I pretty much followed the recipe (except I added some sauteed mushrooms and onions). I think that next time I'll do as others suggested and add serranos (for a kick) and some seasonings to the mix. I think this has the potential to be good, but it does need a little doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe was a great sidedish to my dinner tonight! I cut the tomatoes in half and tried to stuff them that way, but that wasn't a good idea. Not a lot would fit into them, and they kept tipping. Make sure to cut off just the top of the tomato; it will taste much better! The croutons were also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was so great. I added a special cheese on top along with a few mushrooms...it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've made these several times for Jason and myself as a light lunch or dinner. I've made them by Anita's original recipe, and I've also made the following changes: I've added shredded swiss cheese and chopped onions and red and yellow peppers as well as green. I've added a chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper to the mix. I've substituted cubed cooked ham and also cubes of kielbasa instead of bacon. And I've replaced the Parmesan with Ricotta for a richer filling. I'm convinced that there is no way to mess this recipe up-it turns out perfect every time. Thanks Anita-your recipe is great as is, but serves VERY well as a foundation for changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made lots of changes. We're vegetarian, so no bacon. Used feta instead of parmesan. Diced and sauteed: 1/4 onion, 1/3 red pepper, 1 yellow squash. Added to all of the tomato pulp (diced and lightly drained). Used fresh basil instead of what the recipe called for. Oh, and breadcrumbs instead of croutons. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I added basil and garlic to the mixture, and used bread crumbs instead of croutons, but I'm sure they would have been delicious as written anyway. Very good, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe so many times. It's so good. I am a vegetarian so I don't inlcude the bacon, but I don't think the flavor suffers. I also use all the tomato pulp and make the walls of the tomato thinner so i have more filling to work with and more room to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
very good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States