Baked Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this last year for a Thanksgiving potluck, and as soon as this year's holiday season rolled around people started asking when I'd make it again! Huge success. I omitted the pineapple chunks and used dry ginger because I thought fresh was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
There was tons of filling - I baked an additional dish after what fit in the pumpkin. I'm not sure that any of the pumpkin could actually be scraped off into the mix after baking. Family loved this the most on ice cream as a desert. I substituted regular raisins for the golden, and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Amazing! I use canned pumpkin instead of the sugar pumpkin and it turned out great. I have made it for 3 years and it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
so, even scaling back a bit on the ingredients (5 apples, 14 oz. cranberry sauce, 16 oz pineapple--1/2 crushed, 1/2 chunks) it was still way way way too much to stuff in even a large pie pumpkin. So I cheated...I microwaved my pumpin (a few knife slashes on top, 5 mins. per pound), scooped out the seeds and stringy stuff, then took out the soft cooked pumpkin and added it to a casserole with all the other ingredients. Instead of adding raisins I sprinkled "craisins" on top. I baked it at 350 for about 45 mins. YUMMMMMMMM! Ok, it would have looked cooler in a pumpkin, but this was a practical soloution and it was a great sweet sice that went perfectly with a rich pumpkin, brie and bacon casserole. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I thought this was good but everyone else liked it more than I did. It was a little tangier than I like but then I'm not a fan of cranberries. Maybe some of the tanginess came from my using the granny smith apples. I might try it with a sweeter apple and see if that makes a difference. I would imagine you could make this without the pumpkin because I didn't get a whole lot of scrapings from mine. Maybe you could add some pumpkin pie spice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
FANTASTIC! I have made this several times and it always gets rave reviews. The pumpkin presentation is always a big hit. I enjoy making my own breads, so I use homemade raisin bread. I have also used homemade cranberry bread with equally tasty results. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
awesome when they are in season. used a few sugar pumpkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I did try a few substitutions in the recipe for my personal tastes..and they worked out amazingly! Here are the substitutions I made so others may try: - Fuji Apples instead of Granny Smiths. (Fuji's are less acidic and sweeter) - Quartered Almonds instead of Walnuts. - Fresh Cherries (pitted myself!) instead of Raisins. (I just never have liked raisins) - No Ginger Root at all. I also used a "pie pumpkin" as that was all my grocery store had. It was approximately the size of a Pumello fruit and there was enough to serve 8 people using the contents as a topping on Pound cake. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I would not make this again as is. My pumpkins never cooked even though I left them in for 2 hours. (I used two medium pie pumpkins and there was fruit left over.) The fruit "stuffing" was WONDERFUL though. I will definitely make that again and use it somehow. We did scoop it out and put it warm on vanilla ice cream. Yum. Some other alternatives are a pie, crisp or cobbler. Maybe a topping over spice cake or carrot cake. It would make a beautiful trifle dish recipe warm over ladyfingers, sponge cake or angel cake cubes. The pumpkin certainly makes serving cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I tried out this recipe a couple of years ago for the first time. It's been a request from the family every year since! It goes great when warm with a side of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States