Baked Stuffed Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Just made this. It was delicious! This is a real keeper!! I used Splenda brown sugar and fat free cream cheese to lighten it up. Since I don't like the texture of cream cheese, I threw in about 2 T of oatmeal. It was perfect. My husband gave it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I loved this recipe, and will definitely be using it again. I used Honeycrisp apples, which are large and very light of texture, and they bake beautifully. A couple of other reviewers mentioned texture problems with the filling; I did not have that problem. The filling was creamy, rich, and oozed deliciously over the tender apple flesh; broken open with a spoon. Next time, I may hollow out a slightly larger cavity in the apple, sacrificing a little bit of apple flesh to have more room for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcranepyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is not the prettiest dessert, but it tastes very good! I followed the directions exactly. The only difference was that after adding half of the sugar mixture to the cream cheese, there was really more left than I needed. Even after sprinkling some in the cavity and some on top, I still had some left over. Mine did collapse a bit during baking (35 min). All in all, this was a tasty treat. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I love baked apples, I love cheesecake, so I thought I would love this hybrid. They smelled great baking. I was disappointed to find that my fillin had taken on a rubber-like consistency in the oven. Not very appetizing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I used Braeburn apples as well but changed up the filling a bit. I used golden raisins and candied pecans instead of the cranberries. I used a bit of hard pear cider in the pan for liquid (didn't have apple juice) Next time I plan on making a carmel sauce to spoon over. Made it for company and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
what a wonderful way to turn an autumn fruit into a rich dessert. the baked cream cheese filling is a marvelous idea, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Mmmmm! Delicious these are wonderful and are good to serve to your guests when they come over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandaz12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I was looking for a more traditional style of baked apple like the kind my Mom used to make. This looked interesting though so I tried it. I should have stuck with my gut. Though the flavors were great - the extra filling made a great cream cheese spread - the texture difference between the apple and the filling was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Delicious and simple. Definitely can use some vanilla ice cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States