Baked Squash and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Wow! An elegant, easy and extremely delicious way to prepare butternut squash. I add a bit of chicken stock at a time because I found the whole amount to make it a bit to runny. I also add the maple syrup "to taste". What a fantastic combination of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, was very well received on Thanksgiving, and so much easier than my previous squash recipe that required the squash to be peeled and cubed. I used large butternut squash and found that they needed to bake for at least 90 minutes before they were very tender. I read the reviews about it being a bit too soupy, so I added just enough chicken broth and maple syrup to puree the squash and it came out perfectly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is delicious. My family has always loved winter squash, but this savory version is really a hit. Every guest that has been served it has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
THIS IS FANTASTIC!!!!! Everyone always wants to know what is in it!!! One comment, mine was really thin the first time I made it, so I made some adjustments. This is also wonderful for making mashed sweet potatoes. Just substitute an equal amount of baked sweet potato....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good side dish for autumn meals. I baked the squash for 90 minutes and didn't add any chicken stock and the consistency was good. The only other thing I will change when I make this again is to use less onion; it competed with the squash for the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I couldn't get the mixture smooth, perhaps I didn't cook the squash enough? Someone mentioned that it looked like baby food, which it does. The taste was good though, so I think if I make it again, I'll cook the squash longer and try to tweak the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I would lighten up a bit on the onions, but otherwise I love it! Kinda like yams, another favorite veggie of mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
My family loved it, Iserved it at a dinner party and actually ran out, before everyone had their fill, they were scraping the bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very quick, simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANADIAN EH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Had a large squash in the frig and have made butternut squash with maple syrup before and loved it. Didn't add the onion, because I didn't like the way it sounded. Added dried ginger (1/2 tsp); about 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger; 1/2 tsp of crystallized ginger; dash of cinnamon; grind of black pepper; 1/3 cup sugar free maple syrup and 2 tblspns of melted butter and mashed with potato masher; but left some chunks. Sprinkled Splenda on the top and baked in 350 oven until warm. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States