Baked Split Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Prospective PhD
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is my recipe so I just wanted to offer a few more helpful tips! Tip #1: Feel free to add more herbs and spices to taste-- I often up the rosemary and add in dried thyme or oregano, Tip #2: To get an extra crispy skin switch the oven to broil on high heat for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking, and Tip #3: This chicken also tastes great the next day so feel free to make extra for sandwiches, soups, tacos, or chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prospective PhD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We have a meal like this basically once every ten days using Trader Joe's kosher chicken. The difference with this one was the garlic and the herbs since I usually just use salt and pepper along with my lemon olive oil. This was very nice, and I'll change to this more savory style now. Very good! We loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Tried this and loved it. Easy to prepare. I didn't have rosemary but added a Mrs. Dash alternative. I did broil it during the last 15 minutes and it came out crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Great tasting and it seems healthy. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was a very good receipe. The person that broiled the chicken must not be able to follow directions. The recipe states to bake the chicken not broil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I drizzle on the olive oil, add herbs (basil, oregano, thyme) plus onion powder, salt and pepper, top with minced garlic and a sprig of fresh rosemary on each piece. I don't refrigerate them for 45 as the recipe suggests; I just put them straight in the oven, and it always turns out delicious! We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
There is nothing wrong with this recipe at all with the exception of how to account for the wide variation of breast thickness/weight a consumer may receive from their grocery. The broiler is a radiant heat source so the amount of time it takes to penetrate a material is very dependent on thickness. The thawed split breasts I used were obviously thicker than the author's and after the ~20 minutes in the broiler the internal temp was only 124 degrees. A continuation of broiling would leave the exterior burnt. It would seem that broiler recipes have an built in requirement for some consideration for thickness and weight. As a suggestion it might be handy for the original recipe to indicate what the thickness and weight was so those reading it could try to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
".... looks like you've spent hours in the chicken"!! HA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I also made cuts into the chicken and stuffed them with garlic cloves and fresh basil leaves but you could stuff it with garlic alone and/or any fresh spices that you like. This gave flavour throughout the chicken, not just the top section, especially if you are using thicker cuts of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The aroma that filled the kitchen as these were baking was a mouth-watering prelude of what was to come. These were incredibly flavorful and so juicy and tender you'd think they had been brined. Rather than individual seasonings I used my favorite Tuscan seasoning blend, but I don't think you could go wrong seasoning these any way you like. As I've found (unfortunately) so often is the case, chickens are bred to be much bigger than they used to be, and that means larger breast portions too. That said, even tho' the breasts I used were huge, I found 40-45 minutes in the oven was just right, so watch cooking time carefully! We sliced these up and drizzled the pan juices over them upon serving. I served this with Golden Potato and Herb Bake, also from this site, and fresh steamed broccoli. It was a beautiful, light, and satisfying dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Tried this recipe exactly as written this evening and we absolutely loved it! This is a SUPER simple recipe that looks like you spent much more time on it than you actually did. The chicken turned out so tender and flavorful. We will definitely make this again...soon! And the chicken breasts with bone and skin are SO much cheaper than standard chicken breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calmond
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States