Baked Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Everyone in my family loved this except for my 13-yr old son who doesn't touch anything green much less eat it. I did use several suggestions and made the following changes: I whisked together the eggs, milk & flour (I added a touch more than it called for) until smooth and free of lumps then I stirred in the grated cheese, which I increased to 1 cup (I used medium cheddar). I sauteed 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion with 3 plump finely chopped garlic cloves and added this to the final mix. I used fresh spinach (two 10-oz bags of tripple washed leaves) and pre-cooked it until well wilted. After squeezing out all excess water, I added the spinach, onions & garlic to the egg mixture then poured it all into a greased casserole dish. I topped it with a fine layer of seasoned bread crumbs followed by a layer of parmesean cheese and then one more fine layer of bread crumbs. I spritzed the top with margarine spray. It came out just beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. My husband and teenage girls had seconds and the girls even had some of the leftovers for after-school snack today! Will definitely make again and again. Next time I may add just a bit more cheese and probably more onion and garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe was really good with a few minor adjustments.The directions really throw you off,so I thought rivertownmom had the best advice with combining the egg, milk, and flour together. The taste would of been really bland w/o adding some garlic and onion. I also mixed parm and bread crumbs and sprinkled it on top,putting dabs of butter on the top. Turned out great and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This recipe has a lot of potential but it needs some adjustments. I would wilt the fresh spinach first and then mix all together instead of layering. If not, the top layer of spinach dries out. It could surely use some more zip with some fresh garlic or garlic salt. The cooking time could be reduced to 30-40 minutes or until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
When I first saw this recipe, I was quite puzzled. In the middle of preparation, I told myself please do not disappoint my kids because I insisted to cook this dish for dinner. When my kids saw and tried this dish, they simply love it! This is the best spinach dish I have ever cooked. Highly recommend for busy people with kids. It is so easy and delicious. Really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
Very good! We used defrosted (drained) frozen spinach with good results and increased the cheese to about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I made this as a Thanksgiving side dish. I wilted and drained the spinach first, and mixed the sauce ingredients instead of layering them and stirred it all together so I could get it ready to bake ahead of time (I was worried fresh spinach would get slimy). The only thing I might add is a touch of garlic and onion, or dill and lemon for a different twist. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I really enjoyed this dish. Hubby thought it was just so-so..but he's that way with just about all of the "new" recipes I try out on him. I did make some changes after reading several reviews. I steamed my spinach and drained it well. In a large bowl, I mixed my eggs, flour and milk till blended and then added the cheese. I sauteed some onion and garlic in a skillet and added this to the egg mixutre along with some of the breadcrumbs. I added the spinach last and poured this into a casserole dish. I sprinkled some more breadcrumbs on top and baked as directed. I found this tasted the best right out of the oven. It sort of reminded me of a quiche. Thanks for sharing Joanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
A great way to jazz-up spinach! I froze the leftovers and they were great heated up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Great--a keeper! Toddler loved every bite, and so did I. I used frozen spinach, defrosted without pressing the water out of it, and the dish turned out perfectly moist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Excellent accompaniment to beef roasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States