Baked Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
The egg flour mixture turned out more like scrambled eggs by the time it was done cooking. Though the flavor was pretty good, the scrambled egg texture was just not happening for me. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made this dish using RivertownMom's basic changes- sauteeing garlic and spinach (to wilt it), mixing the flour with the eggs and milk, adding parmesan cheese to the top, a little extra cheese, etc. I also added sauteed mushrooms, butter on top, extra sharp chedder cheese, and went without onions since I didn't have one on hand. Although it's not a bad way to introduce spinach into one's diet, even with the modifications it was still kind of bland. I have to admit I'm not a great cook, so I wouldn't know what kind of spices to add in order to make it taste better. I used it more as the main meal rather than a side dish (served with potatoes and carrots)- definitely better as a side dish with a tasty main dish (like steak or something). My husband had seconds, but he didn't comment on it like he does with other recipes I try, so it was probably mediocre for him as well. It was pretty "spinachy". I did notice that it had more flavor as it cooled off a little. We practically ate it right out of the oven. As an update to the above review, this dish was actually quite tasty as leftovers...much more flavor when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My husband and I both thought this was delicious. I did add extra cheese to the egg mixture in the middle, but other than that followed the recipe. Will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Yummy! Added a dash of nutmeg and used Panko bread crumbs. No need to add 1/2 tsp salt. Also, sauteed onion and garlic and fresh spinach. Left overs heat well, too. Great as a side or a main dish. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was better than I expected, because I don't really like spinach unless it is disguised. I mixed the flour and eggs with the spinach, and layered it with cheddar cheese. This made it right up my alley! Nice change to get in some greens :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
One Word.....AWESOME! I followed the advice of others and mixed the eggs, flour, and milk, and then poured over the spinach. I also used fresh-grated parmesan cheese with panko bread crumbs for the topping, drizzled with melted butter. It only took 35 min to bake. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! Like a spinach "souffle'"....we all loved it, especially my kids! I didnt have fresh spinach so I used 2 boxes of frozen, thawed and squeezed dry. I also took the advice of RivertownMom...the onions and garlic are a must for more flavor. I also loved the bread crumb and parm. topping. Will make again....a great casserole....and will use the fresh spinach next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
A little oily, but that may have been the cheese I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Excellent, especially if you follow RiverTownMom's notes. I used Swiss chard instead of spinach, and it worked very well. I used feta cheese as well as parmesan, and added some chopped bacon. Lovely! I was going to give away some of the excess chard from my garden, but not any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Really good! I added onion & garlic and omitted the bread crumbs. It certainly didnt need 50-60 minutes to cook, more like 35-40 so watch your bake time. And remember to grease the pan!! (whoops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States