Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I added lean ground beef that was seasoned with Italian seasoning. I also used a jarred vodka pasta sauce, instead of making the sauce. I was skeptical that my husband would like it, but he loved it and said it's a "make again meal!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Maiman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Battlefield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I've tried many sketti squash recipes but this one is by far the best. I sautéed the onion and garlic together with some green chilies to add a kick and I did use the two cans of tomatoes but I drained them beforehand. Definitely cook the sauce until most of the liquid is gone. I also cooked the squash cut side up and liberally added spices and salt/pepper. Also cooked the squash a little extra to dry it out a bit more. Finally I added a mixture of ground lean beef and homemade chicken sausage. This was a wonderful meal! My husband is not a fan of squash but he really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It was OK. Very runny even after I took reviewers advice and strained squash after it was cooked and let finished product sit for 15 minutes. Made it with ricotta and substituted mushrooms for olives. Husband liked it, kids did not.won't make again. Tasted sour to me. Maybe ricotta did that? Not sure but definitely not close to how people raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Added ground beef and Italian sausage for more flavour. Hubby & kids liked it. Was a little runny at bottom but used a slotted spoon to serve and it wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I love spaghetti squash but knew this would be pretty bland as written, at least for me. For the squash, I line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and roast as directed. It makes clean up easy. Once cooled, scrape the squash with a large spoon, a soup or serving spoon will do. It's easier and faster than a fork. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes with spicy red pepper and fresh basil and oregano. Layered it an 11 x 7 dish instead of the shells. Next time I would add a bit of crushed red pepper and smoked mozzarella would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This dish was delicious! I swapped out the black olives with yellow squash and used a tsp of chicken base paste instead of a bouillon. Everyone raved how great it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very delicious, though I baked it in a 9x13 pan and made the following edits: - Reduced parmesan to 1/2 cup - Added 1/2 cup ricotta to the sauce - Added 10 oz spinach, 1/4 c broccoli, 17 asparagus spears, and 1 tbsp oregano to the sauce - Used mostly fresh basil (2 tbsp fresh, 1 tsp dry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracy74
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I added ground turkey breast..I also added a tablespoon of fresh basil and parsley. Layered in a casserole dish..absolutely delicious. First time I've had spaghetti squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dsees
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is delicious! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers - cooked the squash in the microwave (same direction as oven, but add a couple tablespoons of water - cook 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of the squash). If you want the squash to be more tender, you are looking for it to look like the insides will break away from the skin on their own. I also reduced the amount of parm and increased the mozz - left out olives and added mushrooms. I did not add the mixture back to the shell, but instead did it in a baking dish. I can no longer eat pasta, so this was AMAZING to me and got approval from the carb-loving hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States