Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I love spaghetti squash but knew this would be pretty bland as written, at least for me. For the squash, I line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and roast as directed. It makes clean up easy. Once cooled, scrape the squash with a large spoon, a soup or serving spoon will do. It's easier and faster than a fork. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes with spicy red pepper and fresh basil and oregano. Layered it an 11 x 7 dish instead of the shells. Next time I would add a bit of crushed red pepper and smoked mozzarella would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This dish was delicious! I swapped out the black olives with yellow squash and used a tsp of chicken base paste instead of a bouillon. Everyone raved how great it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very delicious, though I baked it in a 9x13 pan and made the following edits: - Reduced parmesan to 1/2 cup - Added 1/2 cup ricotta to the sauce - Added 10 oz spinach, 1/4 c broccoli, 17 asparagus spears, and 1 tbsp oregano to the sauce - Used mostly fresh basil (2 tbsp fresh, 1 tsp dry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracy74
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I added ground turkey breast..I also added a tablespoon of fresh basil and parsley. Layered in a casserole dish..absolutely delicious. First time I've had spaghetti squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dsees
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is delicious! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers - cooked the squash in the microwave (same direction as oven, but add a couple tablespoons of water - cook 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of the squash). If you want the squash to be more tender, you are looking for it to look like the insides will break away from the skin on their own. I also reduced the amount of parm and increased the mozz - left out olives and added mushrooms. I did not add the mixture back to the shell, but instead did it in a baking dish. I can no longer eat pasta, so this was AMAZING to me and got approval from the carb-loving hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Does anyone have suggestions on what to replace Parmesan cheese with? I think a little bit of Parmesan goes a long way and a cup full is way too much. I haven't tried this recipe yet but from all the compliments it must be pretty good so I am going to give it 5 stars. I wish they would give us a choice of just asking a question. I also wish they would give nutrition information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful addition to family favourites. Everybody liked it from my 86 year old Dad to my 2 year old granddaughter.. Can't beat vegetartians were happy and so were the carnivores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe was a delicious way to enjoy spaghetti squash. I did however take a different route from the recipe regarding the presentation. The original author bakes the mixture in the left over squash shells which I found creative. We needed to make it more portable though so my husband can take it to work. So this recipe was layered in a lasagna type fashion: sauce, squash, olives, and mozzarella. You repeat the layering and top it off with parmesan cheese. This recipe was seasoned to taste and finished off in the oven. This was fun to make and tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This recipe is a new family favourite. Very easy to make. I used my homemade sauce and added a few cauliflower florets and some red pepper to the sauce for added flavour (and blended it with a hand blender). I layered it twice- each half of the squash made a layer. I omitted the olives and used a baking dish rather than the rind. Next time I'll add ground turkey to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States