Baked Snapper with Mandarin Oranges, Cashews and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My fiance and I thought this was a restaurant-quality recipe and so easy to make!! I couldn't find fresh mandarin oranges so I used a juice orange and canned mandarin oranges. Definitely sprinkle on the cashews and green onions over the top if you like them, it gives it great flavor and presentation on the plate! I will definitely make this again! Update: I have made this several times since I first discovered the recipe (ditched the fiance, kept the recipe :-)) and I just LOVE it! I have started adding a small, finely diced serrano pepper in place of the red chili flakes. I like the fresh, pepper flavor! I serve it over Basmati rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I prepared the sauce as written, skipping the chopped mandarin orange slices. However, instead of baking the fish I dredged them in flour, seared them in a skillet oiled with one tablespoon of butter, then added the sauce and cooked until it thickened. Don't skip the cashews or the spring onions, they make this dish even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very yummy! I actually used Tilapia this time and it was equally as good as the snapper. The only thing I modified was to finely grate the ginger to evenly disperse the ingredient into the dish. I grate the ginger by turning it clockwise each time so as to not get the stringy pieces. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
just made lat night for 7 adults and one y yr old. a few changes only because we lacked required ingredients-terriyaki sauce for soy sauce and olive oil for sesame-matched rest of recipe and only have to bake fish a lil longer because of the size of snapper fillets-EXCELLENT! very fresh, light with a fruity sweet taste followed with a nutty spicy bite- will use often with orange roughy and trout as well! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was not at all good, big waste of snapper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I tried it with tilapia and left out the ginger on accident. It was still delicious!! I definitely reccomend this as a quick recipe for a healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I think this recipe could be good but needs some work. Sauce was not bold or thick enough for me. I will try this again and next time I will cook sauce and fish on their own and then dress the fish. A good starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good! We had clemetines instead of mandarins so used those instead. What surprised me the most, was eating this as a leftover cold- it was delicious cold! Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was easy and yummy! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
liked the idea of the combination of ingrediants.. not enough sauce to cook the fish in to keep from getting dry.. we used mangrove snapper freshly caught from here in the gulf -- maybe I would try again but I would season fish first with cajun seasonings & eliminate red pepper. depending on how big/much fish fillets you were cooking, double the liquids........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States