Baked Snapper with Mandarin Oranges, Cashews and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My fiance and I thought this was a restaurant-quality recipe and so easy to make!! I couldn't find fresh mandarin oranges so I used a juice orange and canned mandarin oranges. Definitely sprinkle on the cashews and green onions over the top if you like them, it gives it great flavor and presentation on the plate! I will definitely make this again! Update: I have made this several times since I first discovered the recipe (ditched the fiance, kept the recipe :-)) and I just LOVE it! I have started adding a small, finely diced serrano pepper in place of the red chili flakes. I like the fresh, pepper flavor! I serve it over Basmati rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I really didn't like this recipe. I don't think the fish picked up much flavor from the sauce, and I didn't like the soggy oranges or the "boiled" look and texture that the fish got from being baked in liquid. It was easy to prepare, I had most of the ingredients on hand, and I think the sauce has promise, but if I use it again it will be with substantial changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I thought this was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I prepared the sauce as written, skipping the chopped mandarin orange slices. However, instead of baking the fish I dredged them in flour, seared them in a skillet oiled with one tablespoon of butter, then added the sauce and cooked until it thickened. Don't skip the cashews or the spring onions, they make this dish even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very yummy! I actually used Tilapia this time and it was equally as good as the snapper. The only thing I modified was to finely grate the ginger to evenly disperse the ingredient into the dish. I grate the ginger by turning it clockwise each time so as to not get the stringy pieces. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good! We had clemetines instead of mandarins so used those instead. What surprised me the most, was eating this as a leftover cold- it was delicious cold! Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Nice and easy dish, the fish turned out great. I fried the cashews with some chili's before adding at the end, for an extra little zip. Served with some rice, and a salad with a few mandarin's in it. Nice easy dinner. Too bad there were no leftovers, so can't try it cold..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I think this recipe could be good but needs some work. Sauce was not bold or thick enough for me. I will try this again and next time I will cook sauce and fish on their own and then dress the fish. A good starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I tried it with tilapia and left out the ginger on accident. It was still delicious!! I definitely reccomend this as a quick recipe for a healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
liked the idea of the combination of ingrediants.. not enough sauce to cook the fish in to keep from getting dry.. we used mangrove snapper freshly caught from here in the gulf -- maybe I would try again but I would season fish first with cajun seasonings & eliminate red pepper. depending on how big/much fish fillets you were cooking, double the liquids........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States