Baked Snapper with Chilies, Ginger and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is awesome! I used Mahi fillets instead of a whole fish, so I couldn't exactly stuff the fillets with the basil. Instead, I seared the fish in the peanut oil. Covered it with a little of the sauce that is made on Step 4 of this recipe and some basil leaves, and then baked it for about 20mins in a 375 degree oven (cooking time would vary depending on your fillet size or fish choice). Served it along with the leftover sauce over Jasmine rice and Broccoli! LOVED IT! GREAT SAUCE! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe and I'd definitely make it again. Do what the other reviewers say and don't leave out the brown sugar. The ginger and wine vinegar make it. I didn't brown it first and it crisped right up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Great recipe! Instead of baking this, I heat up wok in high heat, sauteed ginger, garlic, chili pepper and browned the fish on both sides (whole fish cutted in half) then toss in the rest of the ingredients, covered, cooked on medium heat until done. Did not add any water, but actually thickened sauce with a little cornstarch (mixed first in cold water), had to add a little more sugar since it was a little salty for my taste (fish sauce). overall it tasted great! Hubby loved it. served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe is for shure a 5 star. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is the absolute best! Great flavor, easy and quick. I didn't have any fish sauce so I had to substitute my favorite stir fry sauce but it was still good. This one I raved about to everyone and I NEVER rave about my cooking. I think this sauce would be good with chicken also. I'm going to make up a big batch to freeze and have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nelcardona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great blend of flavors. I had to use dried basil instead of fresh, and used cherry tomatoes cut in half. Used olive oil instead of peanut oil (not available here). Didn't have any brown sugar, used a tablespoon of prepared honey mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
One of the best dishes I've ever made! I 'made-do' with the ingredients I had on hand, and it ended up perfect! I didn't have any red chilies, I used 1/2 fresh jalapeno diced, 1/2 fresh habanero diced. Instead of bell pepper/tomatoes, I cooked sliced japanese eggplant along with the ginger/cloves. Oh, for fish sauce I had only oyster sauce on hand. Lol, and for the snapper I used a pound of really fresh filets. I sort of layered the basil (thai basil) into the layers of filets, and lightly coated with the oyster sauce - I'll likely add a little water next time to be able to brush it on and distribute a bit better. Okay, didn't have peanut oil either, so used the last bit of the sesame oil I had (I think it adds a bit more flavor). All in all, very similar but done without having to go shop for ingredients. Thank you to Chili Spice for the recipe! Very much enjoyed and have to play with it even more next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was very good! I did not use a whole fish, just fillets so I skipped the searing and put it straight in the oven. Used orange bells instead of yellow, and that tomato topping is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States