Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Many of the reviews were wonderful. I see that many folks opted to remove the aluminum foil balls. They then added onions, garlic, potatoes, carrots and more. Great ideas. But this recipe differs from some its "cousins" precisely because of the aluminum foil. The dome creates a moist atmosphere to cook the chicken from within. I reasoned that removing the balls was a BAD idea. So here's what I did. I cut up onion - I've tried wedges and sliced - both are fine - and I put a bit of carrot and celery inside. It creates a "mirapoix" sort of atmosphere that transfers into the bird and makes it both flavorful and tasty. The insides tend to be a bit over done. I've added vegetables to the outside as well. Frankly they become a bit mushy. If you like mushy they're great. I've tried adding them in the last hour or two of cooking - and this seems to work OK for carrots. I make a baked potato wedge that mirrors "french fries" but is much healthier and I've tried different types of rice. Both are far superior to really mushy potato. Also the flavor doesn't transfer well into the veggies when they're outside the bird. Lastly I've added broth so that it approaches half the size of the aluminum balls - and THIS is the ideal I think. So stuff the bird, create your balls, add in a bit of broth - season the bird well with whatever you like. Remove the skin if you're trying to cut calories - and make your veggies outside the bird. Add them last minute if desired. I've made this about 12 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Simple and easy. Tastes wonderful. I added some carrots and poultry seasoning and a dash of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I followed the instructions, and it was great! So easy! I am always going to cook chicken this way. It was so tender and juicy, and it fell off of the bones. The cleanup is easier too. Just throw out the foil, and you are left with the yummy juice to make gravy. What a great idea! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissysno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Lawrence, New York, USA
Living In: West Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
So easy and oh so good! The entire family loved it! Made it as written other than adding an onion to the cavity and a little garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Brilliant idea with the tin foil balls! Don't forget to spray them with Pam. The paprika gives it a lovely color- use lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was really good. This chicken was falling off the bone. My family enjoyed this and I enjoyed that it's a slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The chicken came out so juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a great basic recipe for crock pot chicken. I read several reviews and added my own slant to it, just like the others. I added carrots and onions and sweet potatoes and garlic at the bottom (instead of the foil) and added 1/2 cup broth on the bottom of the pot. I also seasoned with paprika as in the original recipe, but also added garlic powder, salt, pepper, and an all-purpose seasoning. I seasoned it under the skin along with some soft butter. Olive oil can be used as well. I also stuffed the chicken with some of the veggies and garlic. I brought it to a party and it was delish! Super easy recipe, I prepared it in the morning and cooked on low for 4 hours until I returned and cooked on high for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I followed it exactly but did as other reviewers and used quartered potatoes instead of aluminum foil. It turned out as expected! Next time, I would like to try adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Chicken was liberally spiced, followed directions....the chicken was so dry and overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda DeCaussin Abbott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States