Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Awesome chicken. Spice it as you like. The cooking method makes the chicken juicy and tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Juicy & delicious! I soaked my chicken in a gallon of seasoned brine overnight, rinsed, and patted dry. I have a 7 qt. oval slow-cooker, so I increased the foil balls to 6. Poured a 1/2 c. chicken broth into the bottom before adding the bird, breast-side down. Melted 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, stirred in a little garlic salt, paprika, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and poultry seasoning, and rubbed onto the chicken. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours on high, then 5 hours on low. There was plenty of juice beneath the chicken, so made gravy, and served with mashed potatoes and steamed mixed veggies. I would've never thought of elevating the chicken on tin foil, but I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This recipe is great for individual like myself, who are new to the kitchen. I followed the suggestions and added 2C of water, 3/4C chicken broth, and 1/3C lemon juice. It was great! I also used red potatoes, broccoli, and carrots to cover the bottom. I will def be using this again! -Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamiejohnson
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I used chicken thighs and seasoned them with a Cajun blend and injected them with Cajun butter. I put a beer butt chicken stand in the crockpot and stuffed the center with garlic, green onions carrots and lemons. Then placed the thighs around the stand. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I was not impressed with the flavors (they were very weak), but the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Love, love love this recipe. Have made it multiple times and I still can't believe how easy and delicious it is. Yes.. it tastes just like the baked chickens you can buy at the deli. I use salt, seasoning salt, paprika and last night my significant other snuck in some liquid smoke a few hours before it was done which (I hate to admit) definitely added some depth. Do yourself a favor and make this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Only thing I added was about 1/4 cup of chicken broth drizzled over for steaming and sliced several area with a knife shoved into each hole fresh rosemary and garlic. Also added a little paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer11
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Used chile salt and also lined my crock pot with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great recipe! As others suggested, I put some vegetables in the bottom instead of the foil. I put carrots, onion and garlic. I rubbed the whole chicken with salt and pepper and a bit of butter. I did add a 1/4 cup of water early on but it wasn't necessary as it made plenty of stock. Add some carrots and small unpeeled potatoes halfway through. I will definitely make this again. Next time I will start breast side down and flip after awhile, as someone suggested, but it was delicious and so easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I make this recipe regularly, and my boyfriend and his children love it. I, however, add onion and garlic in the cavity like other reviewers. I season the chicken with a creole seasoning. I cut medium potatoes in half and place them at the bottom of the crockpot instead of aluminum balls. Then add a couple cans of chicken broth. Place the chicken on top of the potatoes. I add carrots, onion, and garlic around the chicken. Plus, I add a couple bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States