Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The seasoning was really bland but the chicken turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamarakr
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great basic recipe very easy to adjust with whatever you have on hand. Here's what I did, first I put potatoes/carrots/celery/onion/garlic cut in chunks instead of the foil. I seasoned with poultry seasoning/cayenne/garlic powder/seasoning salt/dried parsley/dried basil (I seasoned under the skin too - I put some butter under the skin as well) I also cut 1 small onion and about 5 garlic cloves and inserted it inside the chicken. I then brushed chicken with a little dijon mustard and then some olive oil to keep chicken moist. I poured a little white zinfandel wine (maybe 1/4 cup) and about 1/4 beef broth. Let it cook untouched for 3.5 hours on high. Juiciest chicken ever, potatoes were amazing too! I made an easy chicken gravy from the juices left over in the pot by adding a bit of flour paste (flour & drippings) and letting it cook on high for 20 more minutes. Only thing I would do differently next time is I would put lemon wedges on the inside and slices on top (I love lemon). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamarakr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
10 hours is too long. It gets dry. Also, I made it as is, but recommend using garlic, etc., as well as something in the cavity (onion, celery, orange) to give this more flavor. It's something to do with a whole chicken, but now it's cheaper to just buy a rotisserie chicken at the grocery than do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Soooo tender! Loved it! I will try and season it more next time to give it more flavor and add more salt, pepper and garlic powder. Used breast meat to make chicken pot pie the next day and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is, by far, the easiest and best way to bake a chicken! Falls off the bone every time! Hasn't failed me yet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau'sCookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Very Good!! I can't believe how much liquid the bird releases. When I got home the chicken was boiling in it's own juices. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Cooked it on high for 3 hrs and medium for 3 hrs and turned out great. Put red cooking wine in bottom for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this a few nights ago in the crock pot. Instead of aluminum foil I went the traditional route and added potatoes, carrots, and chicken broth. I kept it on low for approx. 11hrs. It was tasty, but there was just something missing. I think it needed more flavor. I did like it for the simple fact that it did not take much effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver888

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
super easy to do, what more can you ask? It's delicious, just add different spices for a change of flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe would get 5 stars if the seasoning was amped up a bit. I have made this twice before and in the same fashion - I follow the recipe but use only Emeril's Chicken rub and a quartered onion stuffed into the cavity- that's it. I feel the chicken would be too bland with just salt and pepper. The meat just wants to fall off the bone. And talk about tender- this recipe with the one modification is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States