Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It was very moist but it was very bland. I didn't use the foil. I put carrots and potatoes on the bottom. I also added 3 cups of Chicken Stock. If I make again I'll doing something different with the seasonings for sure... although the carrots and potatoes turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Falls off the bone. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is great and a basic slow cooker recipe, BUT if you want to really cook up a moist chicken, instead of foil place the chicken on top of some celery, carrots or halved apples. Then, stuff the chicken with celery and apple slices....I also like to add some whole garlic and or onion. Super moist and flavorful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was the first time my chicken was done right in the slow cooker. I loved it. The smell was heavenly. Thank you for submitting this recipe. It will be a family favorite for years to come. I even made gravy from the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Thanks for the know-how on how to cook a whole chicken in the crock-pot! I look at this recipe more as a guideline & how to do it in the crock-pot. The spices and other things can be changed up quite a bit. After reading many of the reviews, I just went at it and created my own meal. First of all, I used a solid FROZEN whole chicken! It was about 4lbs and didn't come with the neck/giblets inside, thankfully. It worked wonderfully, which means I can now always have a whole chicken on hand, in the freezer, whenever I need it. I quartered 2 onions, put 4 whole stalks of celery and 4 whole and peeled carrots in the bottom. I then put in 2 c. of chicken broth and about 1/2 c. red wine. Then sprinkled the entire thing w/ my seasonings of choice (McCormick Grill Mates: Montreal Chicken). I rinsed and patted dry my whole, frozen chicken and smeared it with olive oil and the same seasoning. Since it was frozen, I could not get to the inside of the chicken at all. I then put the chicken on top of the veggies in the crock-pot. Cooked on high for about 5 hours, then low for another 3 hours. The chicken fell apart when I tried lifting it, which was fine. The carrots were delicious to eat, I discarded the celery & onions. I strained the liquid into a sauce pan, added some flour and whisked until smooth and simmered for a bit to make an awesome gravy. My 15yr old boy and 12yr old girl and hubby all RAVED about the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The chicken was dry as dust and flavorless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this was so easy and so delicious, fall off the bone delicious, I used four wads of tin foil and the only seasoning I used was butter, cooked 8 hours on low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a super chicken recipe. Very tender and the veggies are so sweet esp. the little pearl onions. It saves a lot of time too when your schedule is busy to cook in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Many of the reviews were wonderful. I see that many folks opted to remove the aluminum foil balls. They then added onions, garlic, potatoes, carrots and more. Great ideas. But this recipe differs from some its "cousins" precisely because of the aluminum foil. The dome creates a moist atmosphere to cook the chicken from within. I reasoned that removing the balls was a BAD idea. So here's what I did. I cut up onion - I've tried wedges and sliced - both are fine - and I put a bit of carrot and celery inside. It creates a "mirapoix" sort of atmosphere that transfers into the bird and makes it both flavorful and tasty. The insides tend to be a bit over done. I've added vegetables to the outside as well. Frankly they become a bit mushy. If you like mushy they're great. I've tried adding them in the last hour or two of cooking - and this seems to work OK for carrots. I make a baked potato wedge that mirrors "french fries" but is much healthier and I've tried different types of rice. Both are far superior to really mushy potato. Also the flavor doesn't transfer well into the veggies when they're outside the bird. Lastly I've added broth so that it approaches half the size of the aluminum balls - and THIS is the ideal I think. So stuff the bird, create your balls, add in a bit of broth - season the bird well with whatever you like. Remove the skin if you're trying to cut calories - and make your veggies outside the bird. Add them last minute if desired. I've made this about 12 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Simple and easy. Tastes wonderful. I added some carrots and poultry seasoning and a dash of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States