Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Quick, Easy and good. Frequent meal on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe for a "roasted" chicken! I combined recipes using the seasoning from the Whole chicken slow cooker recipe and these driections for cooking, using the foil. Very good and not greasy at all! Not even too spicy or salty using the seasonings from the above mentioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
it's pretty good for the slow cooker but not really like baked chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
After reading the other comments I changed the recipe as follows. I cut up 3 carrots, 2 pieces of salary and cut an onion in sixths and placed it on the bottom of the cooker. I took 1/4 cup softened butter and added thyme, sage, salt and pepper and mixed it well. I rubbed the butter under the chicken breast skin and around the entire chicken. As suggested by another, I wrapped it in cheesecloth and added it to the cooker breast side down. I also added a can of low sodium chicken broth but next time will use only half. I cooked it on high for 1 1/2 hours, low for 5 hours then high again for another 45 minutes. The chicken was really ugly to look at so don't plan on serving it whole. The cheesecloth was great because it really did just fall apart. After pulling the meat off of the chicken and pulling out the carrots, it was terrific. The husband loved it and while not pretty, a keeper. The chicken if I'd had any leftover would have made great salad topping or sandwiches so I might make some just for that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meginid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Really great and really easy! I put onions, carrots and potatoes under the bird instead of foil balls and had a full meal with lots of leftover options too. Now I'm watching for more whole chickens to go on sale so I can try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I followed the directions with the exception of the seasonings. I seasoned it to my taste. A very easy prep. The meat fell off the bones when removing it from the cooker. I think I need to cook it for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Since my husband is on a very low sodium diet I used 1/2 cup of white wine & 1/2 cup of no sodium broth using sodium free bouillon by Herb Ox used two large turkey thighs and used the suggestion of putting vegetables under them and added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious. Easy. Moist. Mine cooked in about 6 hrs. total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Like many others this was great but needed a few changes. I placed baby Dutch potatoes, carrots, and onions in the bottom of my pot with 3/4 cup chicken broth. I then placed well seasoned chicken thighs on top. Seasoned with salt, pepper, paprika, and rosemary. I then cooked on low for 9 hrs. Next time I might only do 8.5 as it was just slightly dry. Anyway it was fantastic! Great recipe to build off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Sorry, I'm not a fan here. I made a lot of the modifications that other reviewers suggested and it was not worth the effort, imo. I rubbed my spices under the skin with some olive oil. I put potatoes, onions and carrots both beneath the chicken in place of the aluminum foil. I also put these inside the chicken cavity along with plenty of minced garlic. I added chicken broth and 3/4 cup red wine and let it go. About 2 hrs before it was finished, I added more chopped onions and potatoes. One person suggested adding the extra ingredients about 1 hr before it's done but I had a feeling it would not be cooked enough. Sure enough, even with 2 hrs, they were only half done. My biggest regret was not using a cheesecloth or a bunch of string around the chicken, because it totally disintegrated when I went to pull it out. Bones everywhere. So after about 20 minutes of fishing out bones, I finally could sit down to enjoy. It was not worth the wait. The potatoes, onions and carrots on the bottom were MUSH and those I added at the end were under-cooked. The sauce was mediocre at best. The chicken had little flavor. The smell in the house during day was amazing and I had really high hopes for this. But I think I expected it to be like a roasted dish with the same results and less fuss. But it wasn't. It was a chore to eat the remainder not wanting to waste it. I continued to enjoy fishing for bones still days later. Sorry..this one doesn't fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States