Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good. I made this last night. I actually cooked on high for 5 hours (5lb chicken) seasoned as described but added an onion. I think it might be best to marinate over night. The foil helped some what, I think my bird was too big
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very nice recipe. Very easy . Very satisfying meal for the family. I will be making this again in the future. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
A-MAZING!!!! I did tweek by spreading softened butter mixed with fresh rosemary, sage and other seasonings, but this is sure to be a favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We really enjoy the juicy, fall-off-the-bone chicken from this recipe. I use seasoned salt, which already has some paprika in it, and add additional paprika. If I had a kitchen torch I would use it to crisp up the skin after cooking, but it still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I love this recipe! I follow it exactly and the chicken comes out crispy and delicious! So much easier than the oven or grill and much easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Like so many others, I used no foil and instead kept the bird off the bottom using potatoes, onions, and a few baby carrots stuck into the gaps. A more complete bed than was intended perhaps, but it worked quite well. The chicken did come out somewhat overcooked, however, I think this was probably due to my being worried about the first hour at high temperature being inadequate and extending that (big bird, full pot, incomplete seal, whole-bird-novice-jitters, etc.) I suspect if I'd followed instructions more precisely and just relaxed, it would have been fine. As it turns out (a surprise to nobody but myself), a five and a half pound bird on a full bed of vegetables for 8-10 hours produces quite a lot of thick, dark, beautiful chicken stock (assuming you strain and separate instead of enjoying it directly as a chicken-vegetable soup). I had planned on throwing the carcass in to make stock after cooking this but in retrospect I think this method of preparation does most of what can be done for you already. In any case, this would explain the other reviewers' experience adding broth at the beginning and then realizing it was entirely superfluous. Oh, and I did seasoning under the skin while leaving the skin on (as much as I could after that process), then sprinkled a little on top, worried about seasoning only the skin as commented by others. It turned out fine in all respects - everything was flavorful and much of the skin stayed put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I had a 5 lb roasting chicken. Seasoned it with Emerils chicken rub and did the foil at the bottom. Also I threw in the pot onions cut up and half a green pepper. I stuffed the chicken with shallots, and an onion. I cooked on High for 6 1/2 hrs. I flipped it the first 2 hrs. I started it breast down and finshed breast up. Was falling off the bone, but still lacked flavor even though I practically seasoned the hell out of it. Next time I'll let it marinate overnight and will try to purchase a flavor injector.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made exactly as written and it is delicious. All 5 of my children love this chicken and it couldn't be easier. I have made this several times and it is on our meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Three hours on high and we had a completely cooked, fall off the bone, moist chicken! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States