Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I give this recipe 4 stars for the original method.. However if you doctor it up with more flavor then it is a 5 star for sure. I have made this 3 times so far. Attempt #1: Took advice from others and stuffed cavity with onions, garlic, and carrots. Lined the bottom with onions, garlic and carrots. Seasoned the 5 lb bird with rosemary, garlic salt, pepper, paprika, etc.. and cooked it as recipe says: 1 hr on high and then 8ish on low. Smelled amazing walking thru the door but was dry dry dry. We still ate it (seasonings were great and the veggies were to die for!) Attempt #2: 5 lb bird again.. seasoned and treated same as before but reduced cooking time (on LOW) to about 6 to 7 hours. Again.. dry. :( Attempt #3: 4 lb bird. By George, this time I think I've got it. This time I actually tried the aluminum ball technique.. generously seasoned the bird with olive oil, garlic salt, seasoned salt, paprika, diced garlic, pepper. 4 hours 30 minutes on LOW only.. divine. Next time I want to use potatoes as a base.. cooking is all about trial and error right? I finally figured out a way that is delicious and tender, but you never know.. maybe I could combine the fruits of my research (or should I say veggies of my research lol) and use veggies on the bottom with a 4 lb bird and cook on low for 4.5 hours. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Not bad. Not flavorful. But not bad. Typical moist bland chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Turned out great. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
made this today...amazing taste. didn't have chicken stock so I used water and 3 chicken cubes. put some roasted garlic inside the chicken cavity. was planning to use the leftovers and the chicken stock to make soup, but there were no leftovers! So I'll freeze the chicken stock and use it next time. The aluminum foil balls worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Easiest recipe there ever was. I, like other reviewers, chose to put some onion in the body cavity and some veggies like celery, carrot and onion, under the chicken. I added about a 1/2 cup of chicken broth, but I don't think it is absolutely necessary as the crock fills with yummy juices that, after draining, can be used for making a heavenly gravy. I've used this recipe a couple of times now and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Mine turned out slightly over done and veggies way over done. After doing some research, it apears newer slow cookers cook hotter than older ones. Cook time was definately too long for a newer crock pot. Will try again without starting it off on High and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
The chicken was moinst and tender. My family really enjoyed this. I used quarted potatoes at the bottom of the crock pot instead of foil and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe. Just make it your own by adding additional spices you might like. I added a garlic thyme butter under the skin to keep the breasts moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was inedible. It didn't even make decent chicken salad. Had to dump out an entire organic chicken. The people who seemed to like this recipe all made substantial modifications. As written, this recipe is terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good. I made this last night. I actually cooked on high for 5 hours (5lb chicken) seasoned as described but added an onion. I think it might be best to marinate over night. The foil helped some what, I think my bird was too big
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States