Baked Shrimp with Feta and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe is amazing!!! I have made it sooo many times and its ALWAYS a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbates
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great basic recipe. I did make a few changes. I sautéed olive oil, onions and garlic in a cast iron skillet. Added oregano, crushed red pepper, basil and Italian parsley, then tomatoes. Let tomatoes reduce by half (important if you don't want a watery dish). Layered shrimp, a drizzling of honey and the feta cheese. Served with a spinach salad, saganaki (flaming cheese, Opa!) and honey wheat pitas. Not a crumb left. It was fabulous. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made this several times and it always tastes great! I'm not crazy about oregano, so I leave it off and just add more garlic. We never have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It tastes good, but I wish I'd have read the reviews before I started. I would have cooked the shrimp less. I didn't get any Orzo, but I put it over Jasmine rice, and it was just fine. Served it with Stouffer's creamed spinach. Oh, I cooked it at 350 for 10 minutes and then broiled for 5 more minutes. I also had sprinkled a little Parmasan cheese on it before cooking. The feta did brown after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made Major Points with my BF with this dish. I followed the recipe steps, just made a few ingredient changes to suit our tastes: reduced the butter to just what I needed to saute; tripled the garlic, doubled the oregano, added a little red onion and used both fresh diced tomatoes and the can of tomatoes. Used feta with meditranean spices, prob double the amt. Did not cook the shrimp all the way and added artichokes before it went in the oven. Next time I add mushrooms too! this was so yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious and I am P-I-C-K-Y. Not a picky eater so much but more like a food snob - I do not like a lot of processed food, casseroles, etc. I like fresh, easy and delicious. This is awesome and I followed the recipe to a T! Very easy and quick to make if you use bagged, peeled and deveined shrimp. I also served over orzo pasta and it was P-E-R-F-E-C-T! For the people who said it was runny or had too much sauce...yes it was runny but we felt all that good thin sauce was just excellent with the orzo. Served in a bowl, but don't throw that away - it is what makes it! I also think you could use vodka if you didn't have vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this dish on vacation for my best friend and her husband, and we ate every bit! I put the shrimp raw into the oven, as sauteeing them would have overcooked them. Awesome recipe - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I agree with many others that the sauce was runny. ... But the first time I make a recipe from this site, I do like to make it as it is written. Which I did. We served it over Orzo. And we just used a slotted spoon for dishing out the shrimp/feta/tomato bake. We loved it! ..... It is a recipe we will make many more times. We will probably tweak more to our family's tastes, but as written, it was delicious! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a very tasty and satisfying dish! I tweaked it by adding finely diced celery & onions to the sauteeing butter & garlic. I also doubled the oregano & added basil. Lastly, I ran out of vermouth & substituted dry sherry. I love this dish & it's become a staple at our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
We enjoyed this, and it couldn't have been easier to make. It took more time to peel the shrimp than anything else. Like other reviewers, I thought the sauce was a bit too juicy, so I boiled down the tomato-vermouth mixture until it was almost dry. I would normally serve this with pasta, but since we had pasta last night, I just served it with hot pugliese bread. Wonderful for soaking up that yummy melted feta sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States