Baked Shrimp with Feta and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I tried this recipe last night. It had a good flavor, but following the instructions almost to a T, the shrimp was overcooked and the sauce watery. I will try it again (And this time remember to pick up fresh parsley first), cook the shrimp less initially since 20 minutes of baking would cook them through, and reduce the Vermouth to 1/2 cup. I will also cook the tomato/ vermouth mixture until the tomato juices reduce some, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendertigerlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
WHOA! By far this is the BEST shrimp dish I've had!!! DELISH!! I used fresh Roma tomatoes, and dried oregano, I also trippled the garlic! I would also suggest if you want a bit more sauce, increase the vermouth. I served it with pasta and garlic bread. A WINNER IN MY BOOK! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
If you like feta cheese and shrimp, this is an excellent and easy dish to prepare. I have my doubts about serving six people unless you include h'orderves, salad and bread. Great quality meal. I used a little more garlic than suggested, about three large cloves, and I used large cooked shrimp for ease. Other than that I followed as prescribed. You can also prepare the night before, just don't bake. Pull it out of fridge and let it get to room temperature then bake till parts of feta just start to turn brown. You must serve over orzo (must)! I've made this several times. Good luck. Top Notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is my first review I have given, and I have used this site for over a year now to find my favorite recipes. This recipe, with only a few additions & substitutions, is BY FAR the BEST shrimp dish I have ever found!! I have made it on numerous occasions and I thought I would share how I perfected it for my boyfriend and my tastes - maybe you will agree: I more than double the garlic; use about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes instead of 1/4 tsp (we like spicy food in our house!); add some crushed black pepper (to taste); use a teaspoon (instead of 3/4 tsp) of dried oregano; substitute a tablespoon of DRIED parsley instead of fresh; use sliced roma tomatoes IN ADDITION TO the canned diced tomatoes (I like to use the cans that have basil, oregano, & garlic already in them); and I add a bag of fresh spinach to the vermouth and tomato mixture as it is cooking. I usually broil the mixture in the oven for a few minutes before I take it out, just to brown the feta a little. After it is finished baking, I serve this mixture over orzo (a wonderful suggestion I read)....it is absolutely delicious!! Great Garlic Knots (from this site) go wonderfully on the side of this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Quite yummy! I threw in some fresh spinach that I wanted to use up. Added good color and vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is excellent! I did a few things different though. I sauted some onions in the butter and then added the garlic. I served it over orzo with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Wow... this was a real hit! Easy and excellent. Thanks for sharing this dish. I served it over brown rice with a salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
What a great find! This is a delicious, easy to prepare dinner that would work for either a work day meal or company. I thought I had all the ingredients when I went to make the recipe, but didn't have a can of tomatoes, instead, I chopped up 1/2 fresh tomato and added it to half a 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. I cooked the tomato and sauce for 5 minutes in a saucepan, just to soften the tomato, before adding it to the reduced vermouth. Thanks for the recipe Laura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I actually made this with chicken and it was excellent. I followed the recipe and just browned the chicken before I put it in the oven. I used more garlic and added Italian spiced tomatoes. Can't wait to try this with shrimp! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was good! I did use fresh oregano and fresh tomatoes and my husband is not one to like seafood and pasta but he really liked this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States