Baked Shrimp with Feta and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I feel bad about giving this 4 out of 5. We really liked it just as written but it could easily be so much better with some tweaking. Mine came out with a lot of liquid after baking. I wish I had drained the canned tomatoes and used less vermouth (I did reduce it to half). I also think it needs more feta cheese and something else to give it more flavor. Maybe more herbs or red pepper or maybe sliced kalamata olives would work. I'll definitely make this again, with some changes. Like most of the reviewers, I served it over orzo pasta and that was perfect for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I make this all the time and serve it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is my first review I have given, and I have used this site for over a year now to find my favorite recipes. This recipe, with only a few additions & substitutions, is BY FAR the BEST shrimp dish I have ever found!! I have made it on numerous occasions and I thought I would share how I perfected it for my boyfriend and my tastes - maybe you will agree: I more than double the garlic; use about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes instead of 1/4 tsp (we like spicy food in our house!); add some crushed black pepper (to taste); use a teaspoon (instead of 3/4 tsp) of dried oregano; substitute a tablespoon of DRIED parsley instead of fresh; use sliced roma tomatoes IN ADDITION TO the canned diced tomatoes (I like to use the cans that have basil, oregano, & garlic already in them); and I add a bag of fresh spinach to the vermouth and tomato mixture as it is cooking. I usually broil the mixture in the oven for a few minutes before I take it out, just to brown the feta a little. After it is finished baking, I serve this mixture over orzo (a wonderful suggestion I read)....it is absolutely delicious!! Great Garlic Knots (from this site) go wonderfully on the side of this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is excellent! I did a few things different though. I sauted some onions in the butter and then added the garlic. I served it over orzo with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
tastes great! It was easy and painless and I will absolutely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is so delicious and easy to prepare. It is light and fresh. I used fresh roma tomatoes and more feta cheese and served it with orzo pasta. My guests loved it and all wanted to recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was really good! I used rice pilaf instead of orzo b/c my grocery store doesn't carry it. I think it was really flavorful but next time I will use fresh tomatoes as someone suggested and more feta. I don't think I used enough and it wouldn't brown on the top. But overall this recipe was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We really loved this dinner. I used both one can of diced tomatoes and a container of grape tomatoes-halved. I increased the vermouth slightly to have more sause. I also added more feta because we love it so much. I also made it with 2 pounds of large shrimp and served it over orzo...loved the orzo/feta/tomato combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Wonderful! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday, because he loves shrimp. Two of his friends came over and ate with us. They all LOVED it! I served over coucous and used white cooking wone b/c I couldn't find vermouth. I can't wait to try it again with the real ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I tried this and wasn't as impressed as some. I used sweet vermouth but don't think it was because of that. It was good but I can't say great. Not sure would make again because there is so many great recipes you can put shrimp into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States