Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Note from the recipe author -- A few people mentioned that it was missing something. If you noticed in the description, I said that it is a basic recipe, meaning that it is a starting point. Add your favorite spices and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was really good! Like someone else, said, it's really the sauce you use that makes or breaks it. I made my own tomato sauce. I also quadrupled the recipe, and used penne instead of shells. I didn't use any of the cheese, but the tofu sure fooled everyone as ricotta! Also, I sauteed zucchini slices and a portabello mushroom. I decided to layer it like lasagna, with sauce on the bottom, a layer of noodles, some mushroom and zucchini chunks, then the tofu (used more), and then started over with the sauce. I ended it with sauce on top and sprinkled chopped black olives all over the top. Yum, yum, and quite healthy!!! Next time I'll try it with lasagna noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was SO GOOD! I have been been searching for ways to make healthful vegetarian dishes, and this one was amazing! I especially liked how there was tofu incorporated into the sauce, and how there wasn't much cheese at all. This dish was also very filling on not a whole lot of calories, which was very nice. I will definately be making his again. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Really great base recipe. Substituting whole wheat penne for the pasta worked well. I also sauteed the mushrooms with some garlic before baking and added some diced zucchini. It's still excellent with 1/2 the cheese if you want to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I just made this and it was one of those recipes that turned out right without me spending the whole meal "apologizing" to the family. Of course, it's pretty hard to screw this one up and I owe alot of the credit to the makers of the particular spaghetti sauce I used-- the sauce is what determines the flavor of this dish, so unless you use your own sauce recipe, it's not really your success. I trippled the recipe to serve six and I used an entire 12.3 oz package of tofu-- 3/4 cup just wasn't enough. I used chopped portabellos since that's what we had for mushrooms and they tasted just fine. The dish holds together very nicely, but it tasted a little funny when I microwaved the leftovers-- I don't recommend doing this if you use jarred sauce. Overall very good and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Great base recipe. I like the idea of using tofu here. It's bland as is, but as the submitter stated, ït's a good start. I'm a garlic lover, so I throw in about 4 cloves of garlic (yes...I know), as well as green pepper, lots of mushrooms, lots of onions, some scallions, and huge amounts of pepper. My mouth was burning... but I loved every minute! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
It's only an okay recipe--I added a few vegetables, but I actually like the idea of just putting the tofu in with the sauce; it really was barely noticeable for those who arenèt big fans of tofu...still I don't think I'd follow the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Only after some changes & additions would I rate this 5* because I think it would be bland as written. I used the "calculate" button for 5 servings. What I changed, using some others suggestions & my own ways: Increased the amt. of pasta even a bit more. Used penne instead of shells which gave the dish more substance & chewines. Cooked al dente a must! Used good spaghetti sauce instead of tomato. Used portabello mushrooms since that's what I had. Increased amt. of tofu even a bit more. Sauted mushrooms & tofu in a little olive oil. Added drained artichokes, sliced & some roasted red pepper (from a jar), diced. Topped w/ more cheese - freshly grated Parmesan. Still was an easy, quick main dish & very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed the advice of other viewers and added chopped onion, garlic, more tofu and used almost 22 oz. of a tomato and basil sauce. The casserole was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This was VERY good. I added mushrooms and a lot of garlic and some artichokes all chopped up. I also added some Italian seasonings to the sauce as I like it with a lot of flavour. I would make this again and again esp when I am in a hurry. Tastes even better the second day. My 5 yr old loved it too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States