Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this last night with "Zippy Zucchini" on the side. Quadrupled the recipe and it came out really tasty! I wasn't sure how to "crumble" fresh tofu, so I just bought the MorningStar crumbles and sautéed them with Onion, Garlic, and Mushroom (with a little butter) before adding it to the shells. I used "Prego 3 Cheese" and "Prego Tomato, Onion, and Garlic" flavored sauces. We had a lot of extra Parmesan cheese, so that went on top about half-way through baking, which gave it a really flavorful, crispy top-layer. I don't cook often and it was really easy - especially after reading reviews and learning some tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieSean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My kids loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow! My husband, a tofu hater, didn't even suspect that the "cheese" wasn't cheese in this dish. He ate about three helpings! I dressed up jarred spaghetti sauce with onions, garlic and seasonings, and it was pretty good. He did suggest adding some italian sausage to spice it up, however, which I realize is not an option for the vegetarians cooking this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed the advice of other viewers and added chopped onion, garlic, more tofu and used almost 22 oz. of a tomato and basil sauce. The casserole was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So good, best veggie pasta dish I've made. I skipped the cheese and mixed the tofu with fresh spinach that I cooked with a lot of garlic, red pepper flakes and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Thanks Krista B.....I'm giving this 5 stars because this is a great dish to sneak in tofu! You don't even know it's there. I make this recipe exactly as is. My 5 year old and 3 year old don't like things with a lot of strong seasonings or spices, so this is perfect for us -- it's become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is so good. I used bottled sauce and added white wine and sauteed onions, yellow bell pepper,mushrooms and zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is an excellent starter recipe! I doubled the pasta & sauce and used veggie mozz. cheese. I also had about 1/3 cup of sliced onions in the fridge, so caramelized those, then set them aside and cooked the diced mushrooms & about 1/4 cup of diced carrots in the same pan with a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of butter. I mixed the tofu, onions, carrots and mushrooms together. I took other suggestions and layered the dish, topping it with nutritional yeast and throwing in chopped basil throughout. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so simple and fast to make. I added a veggie tomato sauce but i would still add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband thought this was a 3 star recipe, but to be fair I added black olives, which I think overpowered things a bit. My 15 month old son, on the other hand loves this and gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States