Baked Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
My entire family enjoyed this, even my 8-year old daughter who rarely eats anything new. To eliminate the problem several reviewers mentioned of the sauce burning in the bottom of the baking dish, I put it in a separate bowl and dipped the chicken in that. I used a tablespoon each of regular soy sauce and low-sodium teriyaki sauce, and added a shake or two of garlic powder to that. I didn't use salt or pepper in the flour/sesame seed mixture. When I basted the chicken about halfway through baking, I DID add a couple of shakes of the teriyaki sauce to the pan, mixed it with the butter and spooned that over the chicken. I baked this for 30 minutes only and it was perfectly done, and the sauce didn't have time to burn since I added it halfway through. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I love reading everyone's reviews and getting ideas of how to improvise and modify recipes to get the taste you like best! I used this recipe as my basic guide and did the following: 1.Marinated small pieces ofboneless chicken breasts in a combo of soy, teriyaki, and thick maple syrup. 2.Coated the chicken pieces with the flour, pepper, sesame seed mixturs. 3.Browned the chicken pieces in a little sesame oil. 4.Added more soy, teriyaki, sesame seeds and maple syrup to the frying pan and cooked slowly until the chicken was done and the sauce was nice and thick and sticky. My husband and I loved this and thought it was very close to chinese restaurant sesame chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I followed previous reviewers' advice and doubled the mixture for the coating, which was just enough for 4 chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Very easy and flavorful. I omitted the butter for less fat, and after 15 minutes of cooking, added about 1/2 cup water to the pan because the soy sauce started burning. It was done in about 28 minutes. Next time, I will double the coating ingredients - barely enough for 3 breasts, and it calls for 4. I served it with carrot rice (also found on this site) and green peas - great combination! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Everyone must try this one. It is the best chicken recipe ever. I don't add the salt or pepper though, and it still tastes great. Toasting the seeds beforehad is a must for maximum flavor. The chicken is always very moist. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I really liked this recipe. It was extremely easy to make. I did think it was a bit too salty. My daughter thought it was salty too, but my son thought it was great. My son thought it should get higher than five stars!! Next time, I will leave out the salt. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Great - easy, simple and tasty. And quick, too! Just one suggestion - using just soy sauce makes it too salty. Add some duck sauce or sweet-and-sour sauce (about 1/3 amount of soy sauce) to increase the taste. Sesame seeds can be purchased toasted from the Oriental food market. If there are none in your area, toast on the stove in the frying pan but STIR CONSTANTLY; once the seeds start changing yellowish, switch the heat off under the pan, but KEEP STIRRING - the pan will hold enough heat to finish toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe had it's share of problems. It also had it share of joys. The mixture was NOT enough to coat maybe even 4 breasts..by the third, I had to scrounge of every last bit. I constantly had to add flour and other ingedients to make it through. You also needed to add more soy sauce to the bottom of the pan. It was a bit dry, the funny thing is my dad liked it and I did not! Overall, I think that I will possibly try it again, and will definately add more things to it. This is a good "mess with" recipe...and that is all that it is good for at this point. Suggestion: Try some slices of green pepper on top...do not make this recipe the way that it is noted...you may not like it as well...definatley double even triple on the ingredients!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was a great concept, but seemed to be lacking a couple of things. I added some sugar, garlic and oyster sauce to the soy sauce mixture. That really put it over the top. Thanks for the good, low fat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
YUM! I made this, true to recipe, and it was PERFECT. Not floury, not soggy. I don't know what some people did to this recipe that it didn't turn out!? My husband and I just love it. The only substitution I made was Braggs Amino instead of Soy-and it was great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States