Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was excellent.I substituted clam juice for the water and half and half for the milk,as others had suggested. Thank your or sharing. Raster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I made hte following changes. I used only 3/4 C flour, no fish, more shrimp and scallops to make up for the fish, 2 C milk, 2 C cheese. It turned out like a nice casserole with this combination. Next time, I will use the same amount of cheese, but put in 3 C milk, as we would prefer it to have a more "alfredo" like texture. Also, next time we will bake the entree differently. I think it would be good to put pasta in a bowl, then pour the cheesy seafood mixture on top and then top with the crab mixture. The crab mixture tasted and looked like it would make a great golden topping for the cheesy seafood pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a good base recipe but when I made it as is, I found it to be really bland. I added three more cups of cheese and just used 2 lbs of shrimp. I also added some white wine and chicken broth and green onions. I did as others suggested and cut the flour to 3/4 cup and added a little more hot sauce, I like things spicy. I topped the casserole with crushed up Ritz crackers and it turned out yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I am not typically a casserole kinda gal but this was a huge hit! It's rich and delicious. I gave it to my co-worker and the next day she told me her husband had a million thank you's for me! It's spreading like wild fire... It is labor-intensive and quite expensive with all that crab meat though. It's a special treat though and well worth all the cost and fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and it was perfect. You don't need lump crabmeat for this as the crabmeat forms a type of crust. I used "special" and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This recipe was delicious, if your a real seafood lover. I altered it a bit though. I cut the onion,pepper,butter,and seafood water to 1/2 a cup. 1 1/2 for milk, used 1 Tilapia fillet, about half pd. shrimp and scallops, and no crab meat. I kept everything else the same and add bread crumbs to the pepper, onion mix, and at the end with the parm cheese. So good,at the end with the breadcrumbs, don't be shy, the more the BETTER! Serve this with rice.It was about 5-6 servings. My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I can see why this was rated so much and so well! It's easy and delicious! I cut the recipe down to 2 servings just to give it a try and I only had a can of crabmeat (yuk...not worth buying a can!!!) Anyway, it was terrific. Will make again with real crabmeat for company. It's hard to get good seafood in my area outside of Nashville, but got some really great baby bay scallops at Whole Foods and frozen flounder filets at Sam's. We bring home lots of Gulf shrimp when we go to Florida and so the seafood was pretty good. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
My family loved this! I used cod in place of flounder, sea scallops and quartered them. I used 2 c. seafood broth in place of the water. I used 1/2 c. flour each time to cook in with the butter. I also used only 2 c. milk. I prepared ahead and let it set for 45 minutes before baking. We devoured it and only have ~1 c. left over. I made the Cheese Biscuits as JOOOCY79 recommended. Great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
FABULOUS! I made this for dinner on New Years Eve and will make it again and again. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent! I served this to my parents and brother for Christmas and they absolutely loved it. It was full of seafood....I added a pound of lobster and used a pound of scallops instead of half....Delicious!!! I used about a quarter cup less flour for the mixture so it wouldn't get to pasty....worked good. It is the second time I make this recipe and everybody loved it....Will make it again in the near future...probably in the summer when the seafood it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States