Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Autumn
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious! I used imitation crab in an effort to save some money, and I used scallions instead of a regular onion, just for personal preference. Also, I did not have flounder and I didn't see any at the grocery store so I just used the salmon I had and it worked out very well. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Would make it again, I think it's a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I'm not usually a risk-taker when it comes to cooking and have to admit that this recipe made me very nervous. It's one thing to bomb on spaghetti pie - it's another thing entirely when there are so many high-dollar ingredients. I made it just as written (didn't scale it down) and I do agree that it was bit soupy - thick, but soupy nonetheless. It was still very good though served over rice and I would definitely consider making it again (although my 11 year old said he'd rather have had grilled cheese for dinner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very good! I did make it my own with spices to my taste and cut the recipe in half, used 1/2 & 1/2, seafood stock, wine, but the liquid content is fine if you make your rue properly and allow liquids to thicken. Worth the $$ for fresh crab and so forth!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was our Christmas dinner was great! To lighten the recipe for calorie counting reasons I used fat free margarine instead of butter, skim milk, and low fat cheddar cheese. It was delicious! Great special occasion dish! I will try with imitation crab meat for a regular weekday dish to cut down cost and see if it takes anything away from the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a good start but it is a little bland for me. I did the crust as directed with fresh crab and it was delicious. I reduced the flour in the sauce by 1/4 cup and the sauce was fine. I also used 16 oz of clam juice and 1 cup of white wine to cook the fish in. I will make again but will experiment with adding garlic and/or salt or maybe even nutmeg and/or white pepper. We served it with a side of linguine lightly dressed in evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
OH MY! ADDED A PINCH OF NUTMEG TO THE SAUCE...WONDERFUL DISH I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN. MADE IT FOR MY MOM AND SHE LOVED IT!!! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
To Maura Mo .... This is basically a Rue. If it is not cooked long enough it will taste pasty. Suggest cooking a while longer. That should take care of the pasty taste. I hope this is helpful to you and others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was very tasty. I think next time I would like to decrease the sauce by half. Served with "Soft Garlic Breadsticks," raw sugar snap peas, and raw carrots. The breadsticks accompanied this dish very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is such a rich and delicous dish. I use 1lb of scallops instead of adding any flounder, and I use canned crab meat, it's still SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Made according to directions. Sorry, as a seafood lover I was disappointed! Not impressed with recipe. Sauce didn't have enough ump--was bland. I expected a lot more wow for the amount of money I spent on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States