Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Pretty good dish, but it took a lot of work (took me 2 hrs total) and did not have a whole lot of flavor. I followed recipe, but added 3 cloves of garlic to onion/pepper mix. Even so, not much flavor. Bottom portion with crab/onion/pepper "crust" did not do much for the dish and was just added work making a separate roux. Everyone liked it, but assumed it was a basic seafood newburg with a funky bottom part. Next time, I think a good newburg is a better bet time-wise and taste-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
i give this 5 stars the best delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent! I changed it just a little, though. Based on others' recommendations, 1 doubled the scallops to 2 pounds; eliminated the flounder; added 1 bottle clam juice and reduced the milk to 2 cups. Also, I didn't use the pepper (we don't care for it) and added some garlic to the onion as it sauteed. I put it together the day before, then all I had to do was pop it in the oven. It got rave reviews from everyone around the holiday table. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this last night and it is delicious. I used a bottle of pure clam juice instead of water and the flavour was wonderful. I will definitely make this again. Served on basmati rice with steamed brocolli with garlic slivers. Healthy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Pit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
LOVE IT...I have made this several times, modified and omitted a few things, but this is a sure fire hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somers, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I am an experienced cook. I love this site, and find it quite reliable because of the great review feature. This recipe was ho hum at best, and pasty. It needs a sherry or wine reduction with the onion and pepper to add some richness to complement the seafood and it should have much less flour. It tastes like filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made this for the 4th this year and everyone loved it. The flavor was wonderful and worth the money spent on the seafood. I would recommend this to anyone that loves seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is sooooo sinfully Good!!! A dish you must try before you die!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wow! This was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly. Will definately make again and increase the scallops and flounder to 1 pound each. Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Bland and expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELKKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States