Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Very delicious dish. Expencive yes, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I fixed this for my family at the beach, and although it was quite good... it was VERY expensive.... over $30 for the seafood (and I left out the fish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I give this recipe 4 stars for content. I would like to give it 5 stars for taste. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings, and when it printed up, it had some incorrect ingredient amounts. The Flour and Butter amounts never changed. It should read 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup of butter. Once I dealt with that little problem, and put all the ingredients in the oven. I thought the results were excellent. I will keep this recipe in my recipe box and I will certainly make it again. My husband also liked it. I did serve it over rice, because you want to soak up the wonderful cheese sauce. As far as cost goes, yes it is a pricey dish, but the results are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
The recipe was okay, but I think considering the cost, it was not worth it. If you absolutely love seafood and are really in the mood for it, not matter the expense, then maybe this recipe will work for you, but I was preparing it for my parents, sister, and boyfriend, and only my boyfriend liked it, sort of... It looked nice and tasted okay and everything, but I think it was too expensive not to be spectacular. Also, it took a lot of time to make and a constant watch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME!!! I listened to other reviews and cut the recipe in half. I also used more cheddar cheese about 2 cups, and I added some spices and garlic! I used tiliapa instead of flounder and used canned crab meat I served it with angel hair pasta. Everyone loved it and I know I will be making it again soon! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was a great dish. It makes a whole lot so you might want to try half the recipe first. I used 1% milk and it was a bit runny so either cut back on the milk or use whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
THis recipe was fantastic. It took longer to make than anticipated (approximately two hours), but it was well worth the time. I reduced the flour by about 1/2-3/4 of a cup to reduce pastiness, and used about a cup less water than called for by the original recipe. I also as suggested by another reviewer (see 12/16/2002 review) used the shrimp shells boiled in water to make a tastier stock. I served over rice with steamed brocolli on the side. It's a costly dish ($$$), but people haven't stopped asking for the recipe. A good recipe to impress friends and relatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Taste delicious - but a little heavy - would use less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I loved this dish. It was very easy to make. The only problem I had was it was very loose, so I boiled some pasta and turned it into a pasta dish. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I'm really not sure how to rate this. My husband said 3***. If you are lucky enough to use fresh crab meat, I'm sure it would taste even better,but it is so expensive here, that I used 2 cans lump crab(under $3.00 a can). I used only half an onion and half green pepper,family preference. I used only 1/4 cup of flour in onion and pepper mix and a little less than 1/2 cup in sauce mix and I think the consistency came out well. I added my liquids to sauce mixture by removeing it from heat sorce first, then slowly add liquids, I believe it gets less lumps that way. I incresed salt to 1 tsp. as I thought it to be a little blande. I added a tad more cheese to sauce and 1/8 tsp. white pepper instead. I used tilapia instead of flounder. I used more than 1/2 cup parmesan on top and added seasoned bread crumbs. We thought it to be good but we've had better. Served with risotto rice and green beans. Was enough sauce that you could serve with a small side of pasta. It was very expensive to make, and with my husband only rating it a 3, I don't know if I will make it again. Thanks Katy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States