Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I'm giving this 5 stars even tho I didn't follow recipe because I'm sure it would be great as is. Did the crust part as in recipe, then used 2 8 oz. bottles of clam juice and 1/2 cup white wine for liquid instead of water.Used 1-1/2 lb. shrimp, 1 lb. scallops. 12.oz flounder, 1 lb.lobster chunks for seafood,(used more seafood because a lot of people said it was runny),used 2 cups heavy cream, and the liquid I cooked seafood in.Used 1 cup parmeasan cheese,4 oz. cream cheese,1 cup 3 cheese blend (mozz.cheddar, provolone).Used white wine vinegar and left out salt.It came out out of this world every one at Easter loved it, (20)people. Cooked each seafood ingedient separatly since I didn't use the 4 cups of water so they would cook evenly, just took them out of liquid, returned to boil and put the next one in, just took a few min. longer and eack seafood was cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Good recipe. Expensive recipe. Next time I will add some spices to the water when I simmer the fish, shrimp and scallops. I'll also add more cheese to the sauce. I used 1 and 1/2 cups of half and half instead of the 3 cups of milk and the sauce was perfect in consistency. You may want to add a little more half and half if serving over pasta. The crabby crust had the best flavor! I'm going to apply for a bank loan so I can make this again and experiment with the spice factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Did not change a thing. Served with potatoes and broccoli, so the extra sauce came in handy. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is pretty difficult with many steps. Plus the ingredients, if you buy fresh, are quite expensive. But, it is absolutely delicious and very impressive! I served 8 big eaters with it, adding extra 1/2 lb shrimp and crab claws (lobster claws would be better). Everyone loved it! It's worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
My husband thought it was awesome!! Im not much of a seafood eater. But he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Really wonderful!! This dish is our new traditional Christmas Eve dinner! I folowed the suggestions from Diviana's review and it turned out perfect. I left out the scallops, even though I like them, because I wasn't sure my family would like them. Everyone in my family loved it and next time I'll include the scallops!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Thoroughly sublime! I'm a seafood fanatic, and this was exactly what I wanted. I do not like flounder, so I used tilapia because I had some in the freezer, and bay scallops because they're smaller and more flavorful. To reiterate what others have said, it takes longer than 20 minutes, I'd allow an hour for preparation plus 30 minutes bake time. I had no trouble with the sauce at all, it turned out very rich, creamy and silky smooth, and I used 1% milk. It takes about 15 minutes to get the onion and pepper caramelized properly, and about 10 minutes simmer for the white sauce before adding the cheese, etc. Keep stirring, and it will thicken! A basic knowledge of making roux is the key to good sauce. I used 3 cans of crabmeat, not fresh. I served with homemade garlic basil breadsticks, a tossed salad, and white wine. Superb! Thanks for sharing ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I made this tonight and it was good. It was a bit runny, so I may change the milk out based on other recommendations. Otherwise it was very delicious. Recommended for that seafood lover in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Hmmmm...lemme think....um...AWESOME! This was outstanding. I subbed tilapia for flounder (had on hand) and crawfish tails for the crab (just love crawfish), a shredded cheese blend for the sharp cheddar, and 1.5 cups heavy cream for the milk, since other reviewers mentioned that it was runny. This reminded me of something you'd order at Red Lobster, maybe over pasta. I served with garlic breadsticks, and even the hubby, who hates anything even remotely "fishy", loved it. Added more onion and pepper to the left overs, rolled into tortillas and made enchiladas the next night. Thanks SO much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
awsome recipe. i did have a bit of trouble with the preperation. it took alot longer than twenty minutes. next time i will have everything ready and measured before begining preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States