Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This dish is excellent for a celebratory dinner--like New Year's Eve. The seafood is expensive if you buy fresh. The flavor is very delicate from the butter and seafood. However, I changed the cheese to Manchego before I even tried it because I did not want to use yellow cheddar. I bought pre-cooked shrimp and clam so I used Zataran's Crab Boil in the water for flavor but saw some other excellent substitutions in the review section. My sauce looks a bit thin (I don't want to overcook the seafood) so I will serve over pasta or biscuits. The key is to know how to make a good roux: undercooked is runny and overcooked is pasty. The liquid should be hot when added or the flour will not thicken. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Tasty as heck, but soupier than I expected. I think I'll add some thickener to the liquid next time before I assmble the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Came out GREAT!!! Made it for a fancy Sunday dinner & had everyone going back in for seconds. Was so rich and flavorful...I highly recommend :) Obviously is a little pricey due to all the seafood used, but well spent. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Wow. What a special meal this was for my sister's 50th birthday dinner celebration. EVERYONE loved it... Served it over angelhair pasta and with a tossed salad, warm biscuits, and acorn squash as a side. 8 of us were full afterwards, (Had to leave room for birthday cake!)and there was enough left over for 4 lunches the next day. Not a meal we'll make frequently because of the cost, but for special occasions, definitely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Freaking good! Made it over white rice & it was to die for...especially if you love seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Seafood part of recipe was great, but the sauce tasted and looked like wallpaper paste, very bland. Too much flour in roux. If I made this again, I would cut the flour for the roux down to a couple of tablespoons, NOT 1/2 cup! Could not taste the Worcestershire sauce or the hot sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great dish! I left out the salt, hot sauce, shrimp, and scallops per diet requirements for the household. I added 1lb immitation crab (polluck) with the flounder and it turned out very tasty. The changes saved $s and this is a great recipe for a low salt diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Wow, just made this and it's a keeper- I used red pepper instead of green and I used grated Velveeta for the cheese- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Pretty good dish, but it took a lot of work (took me 2 hrs total) and did not have a whole lot of flavor. I followed recipe, but added 3 cloves of garlic to onion/pepper mix. Even so, not much flavor. Bottom portion with crab/onion/pepper "crust" did not do much for the dish and was just added work making a separate roux. Everyone liked it, but assumed it was a basic seafood newburg with a funky bottom part. Next time, I think a good newburg is a better bet time-wise and taste-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States