Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Much praise! After reading the reviews, I was nervous that I might mess this recipe up some how but even I got it right! I nixed the garlic powder and onion powder and used panko for the breadcrumbs. And even though some reviewers mentioned that their dish turned out soggy, I added extra butter anyway. Of course, the one day that I needed fresh scallops, our seafood market here at the beach was out! But frozen worked out just fine. Just let the bag thaw out in a bowl of cold water for about 30 minutes and then dry them between paper towels. The scallops turned out amazing. I am still getting compliments from my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENTSAILING
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
These were delicious. I made sure they were very dry after I rinsed them. I combined the bread crumbs and fresh grated parmesan cheese, used old bay seasoning in place of the spices. I dipped them quickly in the butter then dredged them in the bread crumb mixture. The only thing I will try differently the next time is broilng them the last few minutes to make the topping a little crunchier. I served this with Daddy's fried corn as another reviewer had suggested. Great dinner. Too bad I didn't have anyone to share it with! (b/f doesn't like scallops so I made it for myself when he was out of town).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENTSAILING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is one of the best scallop recipes we've tried. We used a parmesan that wasn't as plain as usual and it added a little more flavor to the baked on crust. Also, if you don't let the scallops touch the sides of the baking dish, they tend not to get "chewy". If you're heating this up the next day be sure to put it back in the oven and not the microwave. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this for an appetizer. I used el-cheapo "scallop Medallions" which comes frozen from Sam's Club. They resemble the larger Sea Scallops and obviously are not the same quality as true fresh Sea scallops, however, with this recipe, they tasted like the real thing. To get a more consistent looking scallop, instead of sprinkling the mixture over them, I recommend you first "roll" them in the melted butter and then "roll" them in the mixture in a separate bowl. Then place them in the dish for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
*****DELICIOUS***** I have made this recipe many times and it's always delicious! I usually add 1 to 1 1/2 pounds of medium to large shrimp along with the scallops and then double the bread crumb mixture. Leftovers are great too! If there are any! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was great, it reminded me of an Italian dish I used to eat back in Rhode Island. I would only suggest sauting the garlic with the butter rather than adding to the breadcrumbs (it clumps up). Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
AWESOME! I made this EXACTLY as the recipe suggests, it definitely WAS NOT soggy, it was DELICIOUS! I melted my butter in the casserole dish in the oven, with the garlic in at the same time-this took about 3 minutes. I then took the pan out of the oven, and followed the recipe. Outstanding flavour, and only took about 7 minutes to throw together! With a bit of rice and salad, this is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I added the crushed garlic with the butter and put it in the oven for a couple minutes before adding the scallops and crumb topping. Delicious. I'll be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Principessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I halfed the recipe and added a tsp of crushed red pepper with the bread crumbs (Me and my hubby love spicy food!). It turns out SO good! My hubby loves it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toa Payoh, Central Region, Singapore
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I used baby bay scallops, and our family likes the taste, and the crunchy topping is great. However, we agree that as a main course, it was just a little too much. If we make this again, it will be as an appetizer or a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States