Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Loaded with flavor, but the scallops were just a little dry for our tastes. Next time, I will add more butter (I know it adds more fat and calories) and probably take out of the oven at 15 minutes. Delicious and easy seafood entree particularly for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
For the price...this was not exciting in any way. I thought the breading had a weird flavor and it cooked too mushy with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe was excellent!! I followed the recipe exactly, only thing I did was take advise from others, and tossed the scallops in the butter, then tossed them in a zip lock bag with all the dried ingredients. They were done in 20 minutes, perfect. This is a real keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this a few nights ago. I didn't use the amount of scallops the recipe calls for, went with about 1/2, and made the mistake of not scaling back on the bread crumbs. That being said, this was just ok for me. I don't think having too much bread crumb was the issue as I was able to spoon around them. I like to prepare a recipe in the way it was written first (exception here was less scallops, only 2 ppl) before I change things. This has potential for me. I would probably add more garlic, maybe a smidge of wine... but then it starts to become something other than what original owner made. Probably won't make again, but this is a nice base for some other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
It takes about 2min to saute bay scallops, and it's impossible to improve on the flavor of fresh scallops by adding anything more than lemon and butter. I gave this recipe a sincere chance, but it just didn't work for me. There was a slight bitterness to the scallops, they weren't as tender as when sauteed, and the breadcrumbs that got down in the liquid were disgustingly mushy. Why go to all this trouble to ruin a perfectly good scallop?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is an excellent recipe that I made months ago (yes, I should have reviewed it months ago, I know). After trying another scallop recipe tonight, I will stick with this one! The other recipe was tasteless while this one had the right blend of spices and texture that even my somewhat picky kid liked. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Delicious lightly breaded scallops, perfect blend of seasonings. I melted 2T butter in a bowl then placed rinsed and dried scallops and coated with butter. Poured all spice ingred in ziplock bag. Place scallops in bag, shake to coat. Baked 20 min and were prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe is great, however like other reviewer's, I dipped the scallops in the melted butter and rolled them in the bread crumb mixture instead of sprinkling on top, then for the last minute or so broiled them. Turned out so good! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My husband and I used Ritz crackers instead of the bread crumbs, which I really think add a lot. This is my favorite way to make scallops, even over pan searing, etc. We've tried both sea scallops and bay scallops, and find that bay scallops are much sweeter and tastier than the larger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States