Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I found this quite helpful but i decided to make it kind of your way..Since there is only 3 in my housesold I used only four potatoes...and used less milk...i added a half of an onion, salt and pepper, and added 3 boneless porkchops on top to make it a meal...but thanx for posting it, the meal was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I boiled the potatoes for 10-15 minutes before I sliced and baked it all. It only took about 30 minutes to bake. I did need to add a bit of salt and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Turned out like potato soup. Very runny, it never got thick at all. I baked it for an extra hour hoping it would thicken up but it didn't. I did add extra milk like the recipe said, but that was a big mistake. Potatoes swimming in warm milk is what I ended up with. YUCK! Also, incredibly bland. Embarassing to have a flop like this when I had company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
would have added velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I tried this recipe because it was simple. After reading the reviews I modified it slightly by adding salt to each layer, adding a little crushed garlic to the milk & soup, sprinkling the top with crushed rosemary, and baking it at 450 for one hour covered. Then I topped it with French Fried Onion rings and let it brown in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. It was great! Will definitely serve this at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I liked this pretty much but agree that it needs a little more zip so will add the garlic salt or seasoned salt next time. It definitely needed more cooking time, too. But I did like it, it was easy, so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I layered the cheese and soup/milk mixture several times and sliced the potatoes quite thin. It still took over 90 minutes to bake to the doneness I wanted. I did double this recipe, so that could affect cooking time. I also seasoned my dish a bit more with pepper and garlic. This is a great side dish for a holiday ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Very good. I layered some cheese in the middle & on top as well. It did need quite a bit more cooking time than called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I used cheddar cheese soup and three large russet potatoes, sliced thinly. This turned out great but a little underseasoned - I would add garlic salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I took a chance and made this for the first time for company. I was a little nervous about trying something new when I was having company over. This was a complete success!!! My guests ate every last bite and my husband could'nt get enough. It was so delicious and turned out perfectly with the recipes and directions given. Thanks so much for the new and easy addition to my menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States